Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

RAIN: My Turkish Delight

a couple of days ago I spent a little time trying to unravel a photographic mystery. As a result of some simple detective work involving a strange photo, I managed to win a guest blog post from ace blogger and inciteful Turkish resident, Spike.

I struck very lucky!

Enjoy!

Fancy a spot of semi-retirement fruit growing in the sun?

I’m Uncle Spike, and as it happens, I’m dancing this little jig called guest blogging in response to a challenge that Liz, your host, set me off on after winning one of my ‘Guess What’ photo challenges on Uncle Spike’s Adventures. Her return challenge to me was this: “I think I’d like a 500 word guest blog on ‘rain’! It’s watery, and you don’t get much of it!”, so here goes.

Well, to set the scene… In a delusional state a few years ago, I decided to dump everything I had in life and bought a 7000m2 plot of jungle in the middle of nowhere and start fruit farming like the natives. Sounds idyllic yes, but with the meteorological extremes of one of the hottest and wettest places going, it’s been a steep learning curve I might add.

Oh, did I forget to mention, the farm is in the foothills of the West Taurus Mountains of southwest Turkey J – a far cry from West Yorkshire, my former nesting place for the preceding 10 years as an office-bound nobody.

IMG_6308.JPG

Yeah yeah, I knew it would be very hot in the summers, I got that bit after ‘holidaying’ here for over 15 years (homestays and village hideaways at least twice a year; no thanks to the tourist ghettos full of beer, pink folk and loud music). But what I perhaps hadn’t quite bargained on was the extraordinarily high volume of the winter wet stuff, yes, rain.

IMG_6309.JPG

We get somewhere in the region 1300mm annual rainfall, which is what, about 50-60% more than most of The Netherlands! However, we also have long hot dry summers, where our thermometers work overtime, recording daily ‘lows’ of 25 Celsius (around 2am) and nicely opposing ‘highs’ of 42-46 Celsius (over 32 by 7am usually). Weather is predictable here, and I pretty well know for sure that it’ll be dry, dry or perhaps dry from the 10th of May through until the 20th September. We might get 30-50 minutes of rain in between, but that really is a rarity. On the whole, summer means hot ‘n’ dry, and winter means mild ‘n’ wet.

IMG_6307.JPG

When Cousin Spike Jnr, our resident small nerd, was just 4 years old, I remember him come shouting towards me one late August afternoon: “Daddy, come quickly, LOOK!!” (he had spotted a cloud, bless)

IMG_6310.JPG

So does it rain all through winter? Err, nope, mostly it’s sunny and mild still, but when we get storms, boy does it chuck it down. Just off the Mediterranean coastline and surrounded by mountains, we attract electrical storms like Liz’s bees to a meadow of spring flowers. Thunder and lightning continuously raging for 6-8 hours is the norm – sometimes with 2 or even 3 opposing storms converging at the same time. All good fun J

IMG_6311.JPG

We’ve become accustomed to this and preparation is key. Balconies have straps in place to lash everything down. I remember when we first moved in, we left an enormous old heavy TV box outside, then it blew up a goodun’, sending the box 700 metres across two orchards to our neighbours!

IMG_6313.JPG

We have had to dig water channels everywhere to handle the rainfall too. And no, we don’t ‘store it’. I know Liz would be ashamed of me, but in our defence, just imagine 160% of your annual rainfall in perhaps 10 storms – not doable. Plus we don’t need it until months later… the fruit trees however love their winter drinkies, so everyone’s happy. Losing electricity, phone, and internet and house water supplies on a regular and sometimes prolonged basis is another matter that we now just accept as ‘life’.

IMG_6312.JPG

Personally, I have come to love our winters : )

UNCLE SPIKE

(The gift of this post was a joint event. Over at Aberdeen garden there’s the post written for my companion in the guessing game. The two posts are very complimentary so do take time to visit.

44 comments on “RAIN: My Turkish Delight

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    August 9, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome thank you for sharing

    Like

  2. Uncle Spike
    August 9, 2014

    Haha… fame at last 🙂 Good to me included on a grown-up blog, thanks Liz 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 9, 2014

      Don’t be daft mr thousands of hits!

      Like

      • Uncle Spike
        August 9, 2014

        Growed-up as in serious blogging and about serious stuff. Trivial or photo posting is easy by comparison.

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 9, 2014

        Don’t want to be a grown up blogger though. Maybe I’ll have to take a more frivolous stance ; )

        Like

      • Uncle Spike
        August 9, 2014

        Watch me then, I do that all too well, lol… even though I keep intending to sit down and write ‘all proper like’ again

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 9, 2014

        But then you combine frivolous with serious pretty well.

        Like

  3. Expat Eye
    August 9, 2014

    Brave thing to do! Sounds much more appealing than sitting in an office though! And a “little” rain never hurt anyone 😉

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 9, 2014

      Aye!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Uncle Spike
      August 9, 2014

      Life is there for the living… and yes, rain can be as fun as the sun in many ways 🙂

      Like

      • Expat Eye
        August 9, 2014

        Not so good for sunbathing though. But great for sliding flip flop tricks 😉

        Like

      • Uncle Spike
        August 9, 2014

        Haha, indeed….

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        August 9, 2014

        : )

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 10, 2014

        So I have a record. Most likes in one day. I think 27 for your post might have had something to do with that : )

        Like

      • Uncle Spike
        August 10, 2014

        Cool 😀

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 10, 2014

        : )

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 10, 2014

        Hey Spike. Got shivers when I read your SUN post. My husband was widowed very young too. I had read that in your about pages I think but it had more resonance today. Great piece. Much empathy and admiration from here. : )

        Like

      • Uncle Spike
        August 10, 2014

        Thanks Liz. It was fun to write ‘spontaneously’ to your requests. Both done with an hour or so – best way to write 🙂

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 9, 2014

        : )

        Like

    • silverbells2012
      August 9, 2014

      Agreed!

      Like

  4. Serena
    August 9, 2014

    I love the first pic! Such a delicate capture! 🙂

    Like

  5. reocochran
    August 9, 2014

    This was absolutely original and creative! I felt renewed from the pretty droplets on the leaf, instantly refreshed. I enjoyed your choice of words, describing this occurrence in different places in the world. I am sorry about losing electricity, phone, internet and long periods of not having a water supply. That is the ‘down’ side on this post.

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 9, 2014

      I’m sure Spike will enjoy this comment. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    • Uncle Spike
      August 9, 2014

      Glad you enjoyed it… I wrote it in less than an hour… spontaneity works best I find, and just writing from the heart about life is the most rewarding and enjoyable as a writer too 🙂

      As for the services, or lack thereof, that’s all just part and parcel of living rural in a developing country. Makes for an interesting life.

      Thanks again for youR kind words.
      SPIKE

      Like

      • lizard100
        August 9, 2014

        Great collaborating with you again!

        Like

  6. Uncle Spike
    August 9, 2014

    Reblogged this on Uncle Spike's Adventures and commented:
    Spike’s been a guestie…. Here’s a guest post from yours truly on one of our Spikey’s blogs. Thanks Liz 😀

    Like

  7. fredrieka
    August 9, 2014

    ace blogger woof, high paw from your prolickit commentor 😀

    Like

  8. dayphoto
    August 9, 2014

    Your photos are outstanding! The rain is amazing. IF we saw rain like that here we would figure we were done for.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    Like

  9. Pingback: Guest Post: Sunny: 300+ Days a Year | My Aberdeen Garden

  10. Pingback: Another Guest Post—Uncle Spike from Turkey — Monday, August 11, 2014 | Life on a Colorado Farm

  11. dayphoto
    August 11, 2014

    Hi, Green Lizard…I’ve linked to you today on my blog. I mentioned you and Uncle Spike and this post.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    Like

  12. Gill McGrath
    February 2, 2015

    Beautiful job Spike.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2014 by in environment and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,467 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,590 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

