Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Smellovision!

Smellovision was a thing that I remember was going to be possible in the future when I was a kid.

smellovision

The concept that the smell of stuff could be transmitted from your TV.

It’s weird really, that in this age of technology where sight and sound are so directly shared, smell and taste are missing.

Today at the allotment I was really struck by the olfactory impact.

I was weeding.

Not the sexiest job at the plot. Not like digging or sowing or planting.

Or harvesting!

But it was definitely improved by the aroma.

‘Lekker lucht’ is the Dutch expression. It means delicious air.

And the air was really fragrant.

(you may need to read this in a market if you want to pick up the effect.)

While weeded the potato patch there was an overwhelming odour of strawberries. This was weird because the strawberry patch is currently quiet though some fruit is ripening.

20140713-183654-67014615.jpg

Down in the cold frame the coriander hit me. It’s one of my favourite flavours and the smell is such a big part of that flavour.

20140713-183838-67118281.jpg

The fragrance of the mint sweeps across the compost heap. That was a good location for it as it masks some other pungent smells.

Thank goodness!

20140713-183959-67199770.jpg

The bees are busy with another key garden scent; those gorgeous lavender spikes. They dominate the front edge of the garden.

20140713-184240-67360065.jpg

Another great treat for my nose is the thyme. It’s a great smell and also one that helps the health if the beehive. It keeps parasite away. In assuming they don’t like the smell.

Weirdly the flowers didn’t drag me in so much but this beauty of my neighbours obviously attracted attention!

20140713-184744-67664777.jpg

21 comments on “Smellovision!

  1. Agents of Field
    August 3, 2014

    Wow! Stunning photo there. We like to see happy bees! 🙂 AoF

    Like

  2. cheergerm
    August 3, 2014

    I almost experienced smellavision reading your post! Love the smell of thyme reminds me of the hills where my mum grew up in the South Island of New Zealand. In summer the smell is potent and herbaceous.

    Like

  3. bmary
    August 3, 2014

    Beautiful pictures! 🙂 I can almost smell it in Illinois!

    Like

  4. lindaswildlifegarden
    August 3, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely update Liz thank you for sharing have a blessed day

    Like

  5. Expat Eye
    August 3, 2014

    I’m actually a bit happy we don’t have smellovision – I’d be hungry all the time! Great post and lovely pics! 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 3, 2014

      Tee hee. Hey spam chick. Found your comments. Thought you were a bit quiet! Enjoy the packing.

      Like

      • Expat Eye
        August 4, 2014

        Great! I was getting paranoid that nobody was replying to any of my messages 🙂

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 4, 2014

        Yep. A few other cool people were in there too. Weird. Like room 101 for bloggers.

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        August 4, 2014

        Ha ha! Yeah, I’ve no idea why it’s happening!

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 4, 2014

        It’s annoying. You didn’t write anything suspect.

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        August 4, 2014

        Nothing more than usual anyway 😉 Once I’m fished out, it seems to fix it on that particular blog anyway.

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 4, 2014

        Exactly. We’ll have to be fishing you out. Never bothered with spam before. I’m a vegetarian but there was some cool stuff in there.

        Like

  6. silverbells2012
    August 3, 2014

    I can smell it too!!

    Like

  7. Rambling Woods
    August 4, 2014

    Oh happy bees!..love them

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 4, 2014

      Us too. They are very pleased with the borage and the comfrey.

      Like

  8. mylatinnotebook
    August 4, 2014

    I guess it must be that bee-in-artichoke-photo time of year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,196 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

