Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Post Crossing: A post modern resource

I’ve got a tremendous number of postcards. I didn’t collect them deliberately but I’ve accumulated them over time.

I recently decided it would be good to send them. As a resource I didn’t want to throw them away or recycle them. But decided I’d prefer to send them.

I came across blogger Snail Mel and after reading for a moment realised that she had a postcard brainwave. She was using an online resource to send her postcards.

What a great idea!

Postcrossings is the site she’s been using. So I decided to give it a whirl.

When you register first you need to send a postcard yourself. You can actually send more than one, it depends because there’s a sliding scale of how many you can send based on how many have already sent and how much you’ve participated in the scheme.

So I dutifully chose a postcard and then got some stamps and registered with the website.

The cards I posted first was to Russia then I had to wait and see.

Finally after a couple of weeks I got an email notification. The unique ID number that I’d written on the postcard with my message had been registered in Russia. My card had made it there safely after all!

Now the site would share my information with the sender so that I would receive a postcard too.

In my excitement I registered to send two more postcards to two more people.

Today is the day.

20140716-192911-70151797.jpg

20140716-192910-70150698.jpg

I not one but two postcards!

From Ukraine and the other was from Korea!

I really like this website. I’m not entirely sure whether it really fits with my environmental message on this blog but I am sure that I really like the connection I’ve made across the world in an anti-globalisation way.

Now, I just need a few more stamps..

34 comments on “Post Crossing: A post modern resource

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    August 2, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    LOVELY UPDATE LIZ THANK YOU FOR SHARING HAVE A BLESSED DAY

    Like

  2. Andrew Petcher
    August 2, 2014

    Great idea, I like it, I’ll check it out!

    Like

  3. ladyofthecakes
    August 2, 2014

    When I was still at school, I had a lot of pen pals. We ‘recycled’ stamps by coating them in candle wax; you could scratch the post office ink mark off, and re-use them. We did this four or five times with each stamp, after that they’d look too suspiciously tattered 😉

    Like

  4. Mrs. Bingles
    August 2, 2014

    I love postcards, I’ll check this site too. Thanks for posting this 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 2, 2014

      It’s very interesting. I’ve only done three but am keen to do more.

      Like

  5. Benjamin
    August 2, 2014

    What fun! I’m a fan of good, old-fashioned letter writing and correspondence. Thanks for the tip on the site!

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 2, 2014

      It’s a very straightforward process with a modern twist.

      Like

    • silverbells2012
      August 2, 2014

      Yes – sounds brill!

      Like

      • lizard100
        August 2, 2014

        A bit of recycling too.

        Like

      • silverbells2012
        August 3, 2014

        I actually used to collect postcards but they seem to be getting harder to find. I don’t think I would recycle my collection, though, as it is like a photo album: better shots of the places I’ve been than I could take myself.

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 3, 2014

        When I first moved to the Netherlands I bought a lot of Dutch postcards and cards that I liked rather than ones from trips. I’ve sometimes sent postcards to myself when away so we have a memory but those I would also keep.

        Like

      • silverbells2012
        August 3, 2014

        Of course, if something has sentimental value it is not rubbish is it? Like my childhood teddy with its leg hanging off 🙂

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 3, 2014

        : )

        Like

  6. bmary
    August 2, 2014

    How fun!!! Lately I’ve been sending cards out to my friends, I have a few “pen pals” but with social media the way it is, there is no need for life updates so I draw them pictures or send little crochet items whatever I feel like. It’s a lot of fun! 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 2, 2014

      That’s a good idea. It would use up all those envelopes I have too.

      Like

      • bmary
        August 2, 2014

        You can make envelopes out of junk mail too! Sometimes I send silly little collages I’ve made from junk mail clippings and send them off!

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 2, 2014

        Another cool idea. Though we’ve stopped the junk mail. You could use any paper I guess. I have a special template for making envelopes. I can blog about that too.

        Like

  7. wscottling
    August 2, 2014

    I’ve been on postcrossing for a few years, and it is quite fun. Don’t forget to post your cards on your profile there too! I’m on vacation from that sight because of moving. >_> But I’ll be back to sending and receiving postcards soon. Some people have been signed up for years and years and have scads of postcards posted to their “wall”. I’m not that ambitious!

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 2, 2014

      I’ve only done a couple but will be seeing what more I can do when I get home as I’m away just now.

      Like

  8. quarteracrelifestyle
    August 2, 2014

    Love that postcard of the woman, she’s beautiful 🙂 Years ago I joined Bookcrossing, you leave a book somewhere public with a note you are registered with Bookcrossing and see where it ends up. Lovely idea but I never did check back 🙂 Don’t know if that’s still going.

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 2, 2014

      Might look it up too. I know there was one years ago that didn’t have a web site.

      Like

  9. Rambling Woods
    August 2, 2014

    That is a neat idea!

    Like

  10. bee76
    August 3, 2014

    I used to collect postcards as a kid. Whenever we went on holiday to France I’d always buy postcards with cats on – photos, cartoons, art anything realoy as long as it was feline related. I must have a look for them next time I’m at my parents!

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 3, 2014

      Good idea. I did Garfield ones for a while I think. I wonder where they are?

      Like

  11. Stringer
    August 3, 2014

    What a cool and inspiring idea! Great Post. Like other comments already made, when younger I used to collect postcards from the various places I got to visit (locally as well as abroad) or simply cards I liked the look of.

    Think I’ll look into and have a go.

    Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2014 by in World and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,712 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

mumercise

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

