Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Unnecessary waste

20140710-221802-80282445.jpg

A few weeks ago I wrote about tea. It was simply the issue of packaging that could be avoided.

But that’s not the only example we encounter.

Sugar is another bug bear of mine.

This quaint sugar bowl in an eco aware cafe really raised my spirits. It’s a permanent fixture with a lid. This keeps the flies away.

20140710-222119-80479322.jpg

The fancy hotel I stayed in had other ideas. Like so many places now, the sugar was individually wrapped. As was the coffee powder, the creamer satchets, the artificial sweetener and the wee biscuits. And don’t get me started on those tiny plastic pots of UHT milk.

Now generally (before I hear you shouting) I don’t take sugar, and black tea is the best option I can find for reducing this excess available waste.

But the thing I can’t understand is that wrapped options must be more expensive.

Where has the obsession with teeny packets come from?

I’m guessing it’s paranoia.

Firstly, it protects us all from sabotage. I remember that some years ago there were som negative events where food was tampered with so we are safer this way.

Then of course there’s those beloved germs lurking in sugar bowls everywhere.

Hmmm.

I’m not entirely convinced that bits of paper and plastic will really protect us that well. After all packets have to be handled, they can be dropped, who knows where they’ve been.

Meanwhile the little packet mountain of wasted resource gets bigger. And with it the pile of paper napkins and stirrers etc.

19 comments on “Unnecessary waste

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    July 29, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    LOVELY UPDATE THANK YOU SHARING HAVE A BLESSED DAY

    Like

  2. Fran
    July 29, 2014

    And don’t forget the individually wrapped wet wipes! X

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 30, 2014

      Euw not really one for wet wipes. Thank goodness.

      Like

  3. Andrew Petcher
    July 29, 2014

    Unnecessary packaging is everywhere. About a year ago my local authority started collecting plastics and I was immediately stunned by how much I was throwing away every week!

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 30, 2014

      We use our largest bin for plastic waste on the kitchen.

      Like

  4. bcparkison
    July 29, 2014

    Amen…one reasdon we use cloth napkins. Just throw them in wash and reuse, over and over and over.

    Like

  5. Penniless Veggie
    July 29, 2014

    So much packaging. Even in my lifetime, the packaging has gone nuts. And I’m talking about those products that market themselves as crunchy eco health foods! A fair amount of my whole-foods I get online in bulk, but I don’t believe that’s the norm; where are the old-school bin stores now? They’ve all but disappeared so far as I can tell. And treats like herbal tisanes, tend to come in individually wrapped packages when really there should be nothing more than one lone paper bag to go into the recycling and a bunch of spent herbs to go straight from the teapot onto my compost.

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 30, 2014

      It’s frustrating that packaging us also now used to make something appear more exclusive and expensive too. Just because it looks somehow designed and tied up.

      Like

  6. thecontentedcrafter
    July 29, 2014

    Hi, I don’t normally comment on your wonderful blog, but here I am – I so agree! It’s the current obsession with ‘germs are bad’ and ‘we must be safe’ and it is all rubbish! Germs [bacteria] are an integral part of our biological make-up and life is NOT about arriving safely at our deaths! In the meantime we squander our natural resources and pollute our planet. Great post!

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 30, 2014

      Thank you so much. It’s really good to have feedback on things that make me frustrated. It would be so simple to stop doing it this way!

      Like

  7. Terri&Anna-May
    July 29, 2014

    A good friend always used to say to me a few germs are good for you – they boost up your immune system! I’ve always thought this was a good attitude to take in our hygiene, health and safety obsessed culture.

    As for the obsession with teeny packets of things, I have to admit before I became more aware of the impact plastic – and packaging in particular – is having on our environment I was drawn to all things tiny… those tiny peel lid marmite and jams you get in motorway cafes irresistible to me. Miniature travel shampoos and the like I bought even when I wasn’t going travelling! When they started selling tiny packets of rolling tobacco, that was what I smoked… perhaps it’s all a marketing ploy for people like me who are easily amused by things that are that have been Alice in Wonderland-a-fied! Anyhow, now I am aware of the impact, I steer clear of all these things and sometimes bring it up in conversation with cafe owners – bring back sugar lumps I reckon!

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 30, 2014

      It’s very true. But the marketing is very inviting. Sachets of ketchup that look like bottles. I just wish there was more responsibility.

      Like

  8. Living Not Wanting
    July 30, 2014

    Nicely put!

    Like

  9. Rambling Woods
    July 30, 2014

    Yes… I think of this waste often…

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2014 by in environment and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,467 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,590 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

