Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Dirty Secret Update!

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about a new habit I had started.

I decided to give up using shampoo.

So now it’s about fifteen weeks since I started this habit.

I thought it would be good to do an update.

20140714-201430-72870657.jpg

Taking selfies of your own hair is pretty tricky.

But here’s the highlights! ( comedy) I thought I should just comment about all the things I’ve noticed so far.

1. According to the local chef, my hair smells better now than it did before.

2. It feels different. Maybe waxy covers it when it’s a little less good but overall it feels good different rather than bad.

3. It takes longer to dry. I always wash it and let it dry naturally as I ‘gave up’ hair dryers years ago. That was another environmental initiative. It does seem to take more time but it’s not negative.

4. It’s not static ever.

5. No one has really noticed.

5. My hairdresser has cut it normally without any comment. She wet cuts it with a spritz of water so I didn’t need to refuse any shampoo.

6. It styles better. I used to struggle with the sticky out ends and with it kind of having a weird wave in it. Now it combs into shape easily even when it’s grown out of shape a bit more.

7. It’s fine. Even if I go swimming I just rinse it in the shower with water. And it’s okay.

8. It feels good. A friend touched my hair recently and said it was greasy but that was at the end of a long week. It rarely feels like that.

9. If it feels weird I have used a homemade dry shampoo of cornflower and cocoa powder to balance if but only about four times in four months.

10. I like it. I feel like it’s a liberation from one more product that we are told we need when in fact our bodies can balance their own oils and cells to be correct without chemicals removing and upsetting that balance.

19 comments on “Dirty Secret Update!

  1. Andrew Petcher
    July 26, 2014

    I have tried the self cleansing experiment myself when on holiday in the Greek Islands and after a day or two it feels really good just washing in the sea and chemical free showers. Shampoo could just be a big con!

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 26, 2014

      That’s useful. Am hitting the sea myself for ten days. Fingers crossed!

      Like

  2. I too am currently trialling this: http://growingsnowballs.wordpress.com/2014/04/18/no-poo-shampoo/
    Started end Feb 2014. I don’t use shampoo however do dye my hair every 6 weeks or so, therefore I am sure my hair is stripped of some oil during this process. The rest of the time I massage my scalp in the shower with tepid water every 4 days or so. I’d like to read a follow up story at the 6 month mark to compare outcomes.

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 26, 2014

      I’m planning the next blog post. Will check your out when I hit some good wifi : )

      Like

  3. So are you just using water to rinse out the dust etc? I’m trying the bicarb and vinegar hair washing ( I wrote about it recently on my blog), I started on 1st June and so far I’m really pleased! Can’t wait to pack for holidays next, all I will need is a pot of bicarb ( for deodorant, toothpaste and now shampoo). Talk about minimalism!

    Like

  4. bcparkison
    July 26, 2014

    I much prefer the bicarb way.

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 26, 2014

      It’s all an improvement on the shampoo in my book.

      Like

  5. lindaswildlifegarden
    July 26, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    LOVELY UPDATE LIZ THANKS FOR SHARING HAVE A BLESSED WEEKEND

    Like

  6. bmary
    July 26, 2014

    Woo hoo! Glad your having good luck! You’re a pro now! šŸ™‚

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 26, 2014

      I’ve just done a whole day flying and my hair doesn’t look a ness either!

      Like

      • bmary
        July 27, 2014

        Gotta love the no poo, I swear, I’m grateful for all the greasy days I had for all the awesome hair days that followed! It is totally worth it!

        Like

      • lizard100
        July 27, 2014

        We just flew for eleven hours and my hair looks fine. And not static either.

        Like

  7. silverbells2012
    July 26, 2014

    I first heard about giving up shampoo when I was 18 – not been brave enough to try it but considering absolutely NOTHING works on my hair any, it would save me a lot of disappointment apart from anything else šŸ˜‰

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 26, 2014

      I’m amazed. I thought I’d be a greasy smelly mop by now. Like you I thought it was a step too far, that I’d end up with dreads and the like. But it’s very simple really.

      Like

      • silverbells2012
        July 27, 2014

        Yes, I had heard it was just a case of perservering until your hair rebalanced itself. Good on you!

        I think if I did it now it would be easier than when I was a teenager as I don’t need to wash my hair much anymore šŸ˜‰

        Like

  8. tootlepedal
    July 26, 2014

    I had a friend who tried it but she couldn’t get on with it. I think she expected too much too soon. Well done for sticking with it.

    Like

  9. Rambling Woods
    July 28, 2014

    Really?…. I don’t use regular shampoo, but organic ,natural ones without the foaming chemicals…but I don’t think I could go without….but maybe I have no idea what I am talking about…

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 28, 2014

      Well I was the same. But I’m now amazed that I think my hair feels better without anything. It’s a bit of a revelation.

      Like

  10. Joanna
    July 29, 2014

    I’m cutting down my shampoo use – every 3 days currently, to gradually get used to it. Really good to see that your new habit is going well; your hair looks great. Do you use vinegar rinses or nothing at all?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2014 by in thrift and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,722 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

