Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Currant Affairs! Jam, juice and Gin!

What happens on an allotment is very weird. One day you’re positively willing the plants to produce a teeny weeny sign of a piece of food.

But then within the blink of an eye the tsunami of produce hits you, knocks you down and tramples rough shod all over your life.

It’s a challenge.

People ask how much time it takes to have an allotment. I always answer. That depends, how much time do you have?

Thing is. Allotment time is a bit like a tardis. There’s different types. There’s time planning and dream gardening. There’s time doing the gardening. Then there’s time dealing with the aftermath of the gardening.

The currant aftermath is the black currant one.
See what I did there?

And there’s a back story.

Last year I had sufficient currants to make 28 jars of jam. I had jars coming out of my ears.

But I cut corners. And it didn’t set.

Oh no!

Disaster.

This year I was determined. Black currants are my nemesis. At the start there were none, then there were the ones the birds ate….. Then they didn’t set….

So not only that, but this year I wanted to make the most of the black currants, after all twenty eight jars of jam is a lot even for me.

So this year I’ve been successful. I’ve made thirteen jars of jam, a box of fruit leather, three litres of blackcurrant cordial and

drum roll

A litre of blackcurrant gin!

I’m guessing you can find out how I made the leather and cordial here and the jam here.

So that leaves the gin!

20140701-220426-79466529.jpg

So gin?

Making fruit flavored alcohol is the perfect occupation for lazy allotmenteers.

Step 1
Drink a bottle of gin.

Step 2
Take a second bottle of gin and pour half into the empty bottle. (This process may take time. It is recommended that you don’t drink the whole bottle and then attempt to follow this recipe. )

Step 3
Get some large relatively undamaged black currants and wash them.

Step 4
Put the black currants into the gin bottle until it is full.

Step 5 (optional)
Repeat Step 4 with second half bottle of gin.

Alternatively keep the remaining half bottle of gin, add tonic, ice lemon, drink.

Step 6
Put gin in cupboard to prove. This will take time. But like having an allotment
“How long do you have?”

20140701-221104-79864594.jpg

21 comments on “Currant Affairs! Jam, juice and Gin!

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    July 3, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome post Liz thank you for sharing

    Like

  2. circusgardener
    July 3, 2014

    I only have one blackcurrant bush on my allotment plot but it fruits prolifically each year and it’s always been a challenge to find ways to use them up. Thanks for providing some great ideas in this post!

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 4, 2014

      Ours has only one black currant bush too. I’m always wary of produce becoming a mountain of one thing. Glad you liked the ideas.

      Like

  3. Expat Eye
    July 3, 2014

    Ha ha! I wonder why this made you think of me!? šŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Rambling Woods
    July 3, 2014

    Not a gin fan, but maybe this would change my mind

    Like

  5. thebikinggardener
    July 4, 2014

    That was brilliant!

    Like

  6. Turquoise Compass
    July 5, 2014

    Making our own is so much more rewarding than buying it, even if it doesn’t turn out as planned!
    Jessica, Turquoise Compass

    Like

  7. mylatinnotebook
    July 8, 2014

    Just like my friend here in the UK. She’ll bottle, pickle, jam, distill anything she finds in her garden!

    Like

    • lizard100
      July 8, 2014

      It’s quite fun seeking what works and what doesn’t and experimenting with different things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,874 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

