Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

The Humble Office Redirect Envelope

20140625-175657-64617180.jpg

So I was sent something at work today. Nothing extremely important. It came in a simple blue envelope.

I looked at the office redirect envelope with a bit more attention than normal.

I realised that it featured a great history. Colleagues young and old, past and present, senior and junior from the various departments and buildings.

Halfway down the first column I also saw my own writing to a colleague who had also since left.

I wonder what I sent her then?

I wonder when it was? How funny not to know now.

This humble envelope had travelled from accounts to transport and back, from the CEO to the front desk.

The image is deliberately blurry to protect the innocent.

It’s probably carried many different documents and articles. Proposals, notes, letters, binders, reports, documents, responses and correspondence.

The reason why it took my attention was because many of the names are no longer In the company. Some have retired, some have left, some have got married. The top name on one side has been gone for six years.

So that’s why I was impressed. This simple office tool, this humble cardboard sleeve has been in use for around seven years. In that time around seventy journeys around the organisation are recorded in the slots on either side.

It’s like a carrier pigeon.

It still has more than half empty.
It still has a long way to go.
There’s 140 slots in total.

This humble device has saved at least seventy envelopes in the internal mail.

Isn’t that amazing?
What a great invention!

I think I’m going to do a series on greener office tools and this is the first.

I give you the redirect envelope!

14 comments on “The Humble Office Redirect Envelope

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    July 2, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    awesome and thank you Liz for sharing

    Like

  2. ladyofthecakes
    July 2, 2014

    We used to have these when I was in my last ‘proper’ job (oh, many moooooons ago), but they were just a boring ol’ tan colour. I feel cheated 😦

    Like

  3. silverbells2012
    July 2, 2014

    Yes, a great invention 🙂

    Like

  4. silverbells2012
    July 2, 2014

    Interesting bit of history too!

    Like

  5. Rambling Woods
    July 3, 2014

    Reminds me of our school,district pony… Same envelopes

    Like

  6. Pingback: Reuse that envelope! | Green Lizard's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2014 by in environment and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,722 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

