Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Broad Bean Dreams: my masterchef!

When we started allotmenteering we really wanted to grow favourite vegetables.

And this year we also wanted to be better at creating more ingredients for meals. The idea being that we could provide more of each dish.

20140624-195747-71867390.jpg

I’m also very fortunate that my masterchef is creative in the kitchen!

So here’s the latest broad bean invention.

From the garden:
Broad beans
Finely chopped Chilli
Finely chopped Garlic

From the pantry
GF Pasta
Pesto (yes, shortly the pesto will be home made too)
Cheese if you need it!

What we did:
Cook the pasta in boiling water
Bring the broad beans to the boil in a small quantity of water for 3 to 4 minutes
Then sauté the cooked beans in butter or olive oil according to your preference for two minutes.
Add finely chopped chilli and fresh garlic.
Combine pasta, bean mix and pesto in one pan.

Serve with parings of cheese if you wish.

It was totally delicious, it disappeared quickly! I 💜 broad beans!

20140624-200736-72456887.jpg

26 comments on “Broad Bean Dreams: my masterchef!

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    June 27, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post and thank you for sharing Liz have a blessed weekend

    Like

  2. Expat Eye
    June 27, 2014

    Is allotmenteering a real word?! Makes you sounds like a green musketeer 😉

    Like

  3. ladyofthecakes
    June 27, 2014

    I love broad beans! I didn’t discover them until I was an adult, because in Germany we don’t eat them. They are grown there, whole great big fields full of them, but they are pig food. (At least in the South, where I’m from.)

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 27, 2014

      Did you just call me a pig ; )lol! They at delicious.

      Like

  4. Becky A
    June 27, 2014

    Wow – that sounds delicious! I really want to grow broad beans next year. I’m going to try and overwinter them for the first time.

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 28, 2014

      We did that unsuccessfully this year but then planted more I think in February. So they came through in the end. We did winter ones successfully the year before though.

      Like

  5. Joanna Dobson
    July 2, 2014

    This sounds delicious. Our broad beans are nearly, nearly ready – I am definitely going to try this when they are.

    Like

  6. Rambling Woods
    July 3, 2014

    I like the green musketeers term

    Like

  7. Di Drinkwater
    September 28, 2014

    I absolutely love broad beans. It’s nearly time to plant some for overwintering too.

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 28, 2014

      Yep. I’ve ordered mine. They didn’t come up last year but I’m willing to try again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,718 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

mumercise

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

