Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Popping, folding poppies!

Flowers are wonderful things. I have a particular thing for poppies. When I was a kid, on the way to the bus stop there was a garden with yellow poppies. I could often be spotted trying to collect the tiny black seed for our garden but no matter how many of those funny pepperpot seed heads I shook, the seeds never did anything on our patch.

Now they populate our plot and the surrounding allotments ver readily, so much so that our neighbours consider them as weeds.

But not me. It’s one uninvited guest that’s very welcome.

I’ve also learned that though red is a poppy colour that us easy to find, there are many others too.

Here’s a small selection.

20140613-201115-72675625.jpg

20140613-201118-72678664.jpg

20140613-201117-72677731.jpg

20140613-201116-72676582.jpg

Their common Dutch name papaver which may be related to ‘pepper’ and Africa. I think the pepper matches that pepperpot the seeds hide in.

But I prefer klaproos which means folding rose. It fits the delicate petals that are too fragile to remain open against the Dutch winds.

22 comments on “Popping, folding poppies!

  1. epov88
    June 18, 2014

    Good photos 🙂

    Like

  2. lindaswildlifegarden
    June 18, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome and thank you for sharing lIZ

    Like

  3. Uncle Spike
    June 18, 2014

    How lovely… 🙂

    Like

  4. Alison
    June 18, 2014

    What lovely poppies, and I think klaproos is a great word, love the idea of ‘folding rose’.

    Like

  5. thejeminist
    June 18, 2014

    I love poppies too, we don’t get as good a selection here though. When I moved into my house i brought some seeds my aunt had collected from her garden and sowed them. they still come up every year.

    Like

  6. Becky A
    June 18, 2014

    I love poppies as well – about time I persuaded Josh to put some in the top garden (he is in charge of flowers, I’m in charge of veg!)

    Like

  7. bcparkison
    June 18, 2014

    Oh I do love Poppies and no I haven’t been able to ge them up either. Maybe someday. Thank you for the pretty pictures.

    Like

  8. Preeti
    June 18, 2014

    Very nice shots!

    Like

  9. Preeti
    June 18, 2014

    Seeing how you love taking photographs, I wanted to put in a word for a weekly feature I’ve started this Tuesday…I’d be delighted incase you decide to take a plunge. You’ve shared such gorgeous shots! http://lenzexperiments.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/terrific-tuesday-trials-challenge/
    Here’s the first theme:
    http://lenzexperiments.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/terrific-tuesday-trials-alike/

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 18, 2014

      Thanks very much. I’d love to join in. I think I’ve got just the thing.

      Like

  10. ladyofthecakes
    June 18, 2014

    I lope poppies!!! Klaproos – I didn’t know that… that’s very funny (to a German speaker).

    Like

  11. lizard100
    June 18, 2014

    I love the language things. They’re curious!

    Like

  12. lottielandgirl
    June 19, 2014

    Lovely photos 🙂 I do love poppies! Lovely blog 🙂

    Like

  13. Rambling Woods
    June 21, 2014

    How beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,230 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

