Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Gluten Free Vegan Crispy ‘Duck’ with Pancakes

Sometimes there’s a food ‘experience’ that I ‘miss’. It’s not so much a food in itself but usually the event.

I think that’s why I make vegetarian lasagne, for example. Certain dishes and their rituals are interesting.

It could be the preparation or the eating process or the event. It’s also about history and memory.

When it comes down to it, food is a ritual, it’s part of celebration. There’s tradition and rules. There’s behaviours and expectations. When you make a lifestyle choice about food it can create exclusion zones where you don’t participate in the same ways which can be hard for everybody.

No thanks, I don’t eat cake I’m Gluten Free

for example.

What’s the matter with her?

you hear people thinking.

Food is also about other people’s expectations too. Sometimes people think they’re being judged by our choices not to eat what they do.

Sometimes it’s tough!

Always being different. Potentially causing offence. Not being normal, stepping away from the way that others eat.

When we visited Leaf Restaurant one of the cool things was being able to participate like everyone else.

No ‘no thank yous needed.
No apologies.
No explanations.

Just food!

So the first time I had ‘real’ crispy duck, I was in a place in East London called Ilford. Not very glamorous maybe. I was having dinner in a Chinese restaurant. This was special because in my childhood we’d only ever had takeaway. I was about 23. It was about 1992.

I didn’t know that Chinese food was better in a restaurant than take away.

That it was different.

We had crispy ‘duck’ at Leaf restaurant. So it’s been a while. More than twenty years.

We wanted to try and make it ourselves.

Here’s what we did.

Pancakes

I looked up a recipe for non gluten free pancakes food network

(I could’ve looked for GF but I didn’t because often those recipes require four types of exotic flour and I’m lazy!)

Then I used it as a base for the pancake process but substituted a gluten free flour I already had.

20140604-081405-29645931.jpg

This is the crumbs of the dough where I’d combined hot water and ‘flour’.

The dough was very easy to pull together. I didn’t knead it much as GF flour isn’t particularly elastic.

20140604-082033-30033408.jpg

Then coated each pancake with sesame oil on both sides and cooked in a frying pan. (The wok was un available!)

I panicked that they were too ‘French’ and crispy at one point but when piled up they softened each other.

Vegetables

Now I handed over to the main chef. I make all the pancakes in our house after a disaster the first time he cooked for me!

He shredded some cucumber and spring onions.
Then he used a weird product available here. The Vegetarisch Slager is Dutch for Vegetarian Butcher. The product: is Vegetarian Chicken pieces.

We don’t do much in the way of meat substitutes but in this case it gives an authentic contribution.

20140604-083031-30631144.jpg

He pan fried it in oil and then chopped it up.

Hoisin Sauce
Now this is another GF challenge. I referenced One Hungry Mama

But there are commercially available versions too. It’s the aside that gets me about this meal.

Anyway, the whole thing came together really well.

20140604-084820-31700028.jpg

4 comments on “Gluten Free Vegan Crispy ‘Duck’ with Pancakes

  1. This is great! Thanks for writing it up. Would you consider trying rice pancakes, available from Asian groceries (there are probably wonderful Indonesian ones in Holland)? x

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 6, 2014

      That’s a great idea. Will try. We did find gf rice pancakes. The paper style ones that are transparent. But I didn’t think they’d be right for this.

      Like

  2. Rambling Woods
    June 6, 2014

    This is the only kind of duck I would ever eat

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2014 by in vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,323 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

#snow #netherlands

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

