Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, Abu Dhabi

20140604-090700-32820875.jpg

I’m not a religious person but I have a great deal of respect for spiritual people and people of faith.

On the work trip I did recently I was very keen to visit Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque.

It has a tremendous number of amazing attributes including eighty-two domes and the largest hand woven single weave carpet in the world.

The stats are impressive.

I studied world religions at university. I learned about Islam.

The mosque is imposing. You can see it from across the city.

Huge, white, gleaming.

It beckons.

The religion it represents is much in the news today. But the mosque is a peaceful place. It brings people together. It reminds us of our equality. Our simple fragile lives.

When I approached the mosque. It had a powerful impact.

The peace. The focus. The silence.

It was night. It was dark.

I was drawn towards the darkened sky.

As I walked around the outer building; it’s a journey. Journeys are important. They take us forwards in our lives. There is challenge. There is disappointment. There may be success.

Keep moving forwards.

The quiet of the mosque helps create a focus; a pathway.

Having a path to follow has become an essential part of my life.

Bare feet, covered heads.

Feel the carpet. Feel the space. Feel humbled.

Draw inside yourself. If you have a god you may hear that god.

If you do not, you may feel something else.

You may not.

I felt calm.

I felt peace.

20140604-090757-32877126.jpg

5 comments on “Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, Abu Dhabi

  1. The Crazy Crone
    June 4, 2014

    We hear the call to prayer here as North Cyprus is Islamic but very tolerant Islam. I love hearing the call to prayer, it’s like a reminder to remember one’s inner, spiritual life and to leave our earthly life aside for a few moments to re-connect with the Divine, whatever it means to each individual. And this mosque is absolutely beautiful!

    Like

  2. Uncle Spike
    June 4, 2014

    Thank you for a great post, and for acknowledging we are not all bad guys – some of us are nice folk really 😀

    Like

  3. backpackerlee
    June 4, 2014

    I loved this place, one of the best mosques in the world!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2014 by in World and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,883 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

