Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Share the love: vegetables for all!

I’ve always been keen to spread the word when it comes to growing your own.

Many people are so disconnected from their food that they are curious about having an allotment and what’s involved.

But for many it’s also too daunting.

But I’ve noticed that smaller projects can tempt people still.

Each year, I usually have too many seedlings in case too few sprout. I’m also a sucker for their tremendous achievement. I can’t let them just die.

So I’ve come up with a novel habit. I take spare plants in to my work. I also use Facebook to tell friends that there are spares.
20140521-224001-81601599.jpg

This year I also shared the spare seed potatoes that we had. The tray in our staff room cleared quickly and though edible things disappear faster I’m sure they have been planted.

This is just one example in a pot that a friend has started off.

20140521-223520-81320504.jpg

Here’s another. A little tub of joy.

20140521-223726-81446535.jpg

The tomatoes and courgette plants were popular too.

Some friends are now doing the same. A veritable plant swap happens each spring.

There are chillies and tomatoes changing hands. Spare seeds appear too. Some cavelo Nero came my way this year.

I’ve also noticed that the same Facebook friends are finding spaces in their own gardens and encroaching on their lawns to grown edible crops.

The rhubarb exchanges easily. Other colleagues have brought rosemary prunings in and various other things they’ve grown. It’s like a mini cooperative.

And then, it’s interesting. I mentioned the other day that my allotment neighbour had great October broad beans and mine never surfaced.
But there’s good news! She kindly shared the produce with me.

That’s dinner sorted then!

What plants, produce or seeds have you shared with friends?

20140521-224402-81842514.jpg

22 comments on “Share the love: vegetables for all!

  1. bee76
    May 22, 2014

    Such a good idea. Wish I’d done that with some french marigolds I thinned out at the weekend instead of composting them. Will take them in to work next time!

    Like

  2. Friends giving me seedlings is one of the ways I developed confidence, so I love this post! And I’m doing it this year– I grew lots of Broccoli Rabe, a brassica I love which you can’t really buy in the UK– and gave several trays away.

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 22, 2014

      I’m going to look up broccoli rabe now. It’s true that getting a plant does give you a good start too!

      Like

      • Wish I could share with you :). Gardeners are definitely a sharing bunch. Also sharing information and learning.

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 22, 2014

        You’ve shared the idea so that’s a start.

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 22, 2014

        I can sow in mid to late summer for a crop in sixty days. I think I had some seeds once. I will get some. I think we are this when I was a child.

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 22, 2014

        I’ve ordered some!

        Like

      • am looking forward to sharing recipes several months hence 🙂 SO good garlicky/oliveoily

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 22, 2014

        Ohhhh. I can’t wait!

        Like

  3. silverbells2012
    May 22, 2014

    Sharing produce is such a heart-warming experience! Most recently I gave some fennel to a friend – in fact she has had a regular supply since last summer.

    Yesterday, a colleague asked if I had some rhubarb, so I’ll take some in for her next week. I also gave my neighbour a big batch.

    Then, everytime I visit my parents I take a garden offering of some kind. In return, I get sonething from their garden, too. This time though it wasn’t edible – but I understand bees love cowslip, so as well as helping them it might be contributing to the honey I buy from my local farm.

    Hopefully, we are on an upward cline as far as being more in touch with the land and how food is produced. And of course making it more sustainable 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 22, 2014

      That’s exactly it. I think it’s a great way of sharing knowledge and resources. It’s great to learn as well.

      Like

  4. Expat Eye
    May 22, 2014

    Umm, none, but I think it’s an amazing idea! Fantastic that your colleagues and friends are getting on board! Can we clone you and spread you around the world??

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 22, 2014

      Awwwwwww! We should clone you too! You could be expat eye on…. Loads of places!

      Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 22, 2014

        Oh, how I’d love that! 🙂 I’d never leave a stone unturned!

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 22, 2014

        You’d become the human answer to trip advisor!

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 22, 2014

        And an endangered species 😉

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 22, 2014

        You could be incognito.

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 22, 2014

        I don’t seem to do that very well!

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 22, 2014

        But your clones might do it better!

        Like

  5. tootlepedal
    May 22, 2014

    Rhubarb.

    Like

  6. Rambling Woods
    May 24, 2014

    Not really sharing my seeds.but if someone comments on my pollinator garden, I give them a packet of seeds to grow there own..

    Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 58,006 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,566 other subscribers

Instagram photos

No Instagram images were found.

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Suzy Becqué Nutrition

Plantbased Health Coach & Recipe Creator

Expat Since Birth – A Life spent "abroad"

a blog by a multilingual lifelong expat/international, linguist, researcher, speaker, mother of three, living in the Netherlands and writing about raising children with multiple languages, multiculturalism, parenting abroad, international life...

Computational Fairy Tales

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Rowan McCabe

and that...

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.