Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Dirty Little Secret

I’ve written about a couple of controversial topics since I’ve started this blog. Commonly they’ve been to do with cleaning, cleaning oneself (I love that word) and cleaning ones household stuff.

I suspect the next one may also be controversial.

But before I get to it. (She said, attempting to build suspense….)

I’ve been think about the way I function. In this thread of posts what I’ve identified is that it’s all about habits. We seem to learn how to live and, specifically, how to clean or not, early in life. And when we’ve got that habit it takes a lot to change it.

Then we might change product or frequency but I don’t think we change much else easily. I’ve noticed two things that support my theory. I think all Dutch domestic toilets smell the same. Every house I’ve been in I’m sure. Time after time.

And I’ve noticed living amongst expats that they mourn the loss of familiar products that aren’t available here. Some people go back to their country of origin to get them!

So these habits. We learnt them from our parents in the first instance. Then I’m guessing we started to use them most soon after leaving home in our teens or twenties for the most part.

The reason why I’m fascinated by this is that whenever I do something differently I notice that other people can find it strange. In one case someone thought it was hilarious that I don’t use detergent to wash our clothes.

So why is that funny? My clothes are clean. No ones moving to the other side of the room when I walk in.

Is it because it’s different?

I don’t know. And if you have a suggestion please do share it.

After all I’m quite entertained by the reduction in cost for all the detergent I don’t buy : )

So if we have habits we often don’t question them. It’s just what we do. There’s a theory that something needs to be done 33 times to become a habit.

In my quest for a detergent reduced lifestyle I looked in the mirror and realised I hadn’t had a shower for a few days.

Okay, so before you panic, I had been washing just not under a constant stream of warm, flowing water.

There, in the mirror, was my hair.

I looked at it, and a lightbulb moment happened. Maybe I could try to ‘not wash‘ it.

20140519-193147-70307289.jpg

This was my hair then.

Now I also need to mention that bMary, a marvellous blogger had talked about her hair that’s been un shampooed for some years now. This was in my mind.

Why?

I’d prefer not to put detergent in the water system at all if I could. Meanwhile detergent companies tell us we need their products but there’s no independent view of whether we do or not.
Also the body creates oils and moisture to suit it’s needs. Shampoo for one removes those natural oils. In some cases we then replace them with conditioner etc. Isn’t that a bit mad?

So since that moment there’s been a process. Some good some bad.

20140519-193644-70604187.jpg

20140519-193644-70604881.jpg

20140519-193644-70604549.jpg

I have learned that taking photos of my head is difficult.

I have learned that every now and again it gets you down but then again there’s a few tools.

Number 1
You can still wash your hair with water.

Number 2
You can use all kinds of things to dry clean your hair or to reduce the oil levels. But you don’t have to. I use a combination of cocoa powder and cornflour if it’s too oily. I’ve got some in an old talc container. When I feel like a chip fryer I sprinkle a bit on. Then brush thoroughly.

Number 3
You can still use a good brush.

Number 4
A water spray with essential oils is a useful spray for added freshness.

I’ve got short, fine hair. But it’s quite plentiful.

Now. It’s about five and a half weeks since I used shampoo. I think I’m not out of the woods yet but I’ve also learnt a few things.

The best one is that I seem never to have a bad hair day now. My hair was oily compared to how it used to be for a while on and off. But now it isn’t visibly greasy. And when I brush it, it’s better at doing what I want.

Meanwhile, though my hair feels different it generally looks okay. Weirdly people have even said so.

20140519-194549-71149355.jpg

Weirdly I’m starting to like it. I’m not sure whether it will last but I’m optimistic.

Anyone need any shampoo?

35 comments on “Dirty Little Secret

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    May 20, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    nice post Liz thanks for sharing

    Like

  2. NeetaBali
    May 20, 2014

    Wow this has got me seriously thinking!

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 20, 2014

      It’s been a curious experience. But I think it’s going well.

      Like

  3. samanthabeverly
    May 20, 2014

    Great post! Thanks for sharing your shampoo journey πŸ™‚
    I use baking powder as ‘shampoo’ – excess oil is removed & it rinses clean. If my hair feels dry I warm a tiny bit of coconut oil in my hands and gently rub it in the ends. I’d never heard of the cocoa powder/corn flower dry shampoo method – I may be trying that! πŸ™‚ thx again!

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 20, 2014

      Sounds good. I think I’m aiming to use nothing. The corn flour helps absorb oils and the cocoa helps stop you looking like a ghost.

      Like

  4. Sophie Cussen
    May 20, 2014

    Great post – never fail to be controversial because it’s fab! Regarding the hair idea (habit?), I tried the no-poo attempt (using soda and vinegar) and was very pleased with the results. Unfortunately it was the faff of mixing the water and soda (because ultimately I am extremely lazy), and remembering to bring a bottle of vinegar into the shower with me every time, that my new hair routine only lasted three weeks. I like your idea though…and it’s always, always worth trying new things out πŸ™‚

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 20, 2014

      I was too lazy to do the soda and vinegar! I just switched to nothing more or less. The talc and cocoa is handy if I’m really desperate but I’m just working on water and that’s it.

      Like

  5. The Crazy Crone
    May 20, 2014

    I shower every 3rd or 4th day for waterwise reasons and because I feel too many showers wash away the protective oils of your skin. I am, however, retired so I don’t have to go to work, go through traffic, use the Underground or anything, which makes a difference. So far so good as I’ve got to 66 with a few health challenges, structural.

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 20, 2014

      Saving water, reducing the impact. It’s all good. I do shower daily when going to work but a basin does the job the rest of the time.

      Like

  6. wscottling
    May 20, 2014

    The “No Poo” movement has grown a lot here in the States. It’s not for me, but I know of quite a few people who’ve either gone No Poo or Low Poo.

    Like

  7. Laurin Lindsey
    May 20, 2014

    I get where you are going! I use a little bit of biodegradable soap for washing clothes. I rinse things like towels and sheet with a 1/4 c. of vinegar. For washing my hair I use a shampoo bar from JR Liggett — “It’s made with pure New Hampshire spring water, edible vegetable oils, and is 100% biodegradable. No synthetic oils, no animal products, no chemical concoctions, and no detergents… this shampoo does not strip all the natural oils from your hair (as detergents do) so most people don’t need a conditioner!” http://www.jrliggett.com/ you might check it out. I highly recommend it! It changed the texture of my hair and my hair seems to be getting healthier the longer I use it. The bars are easy to travel with just throw them in a little reusable bag. I am on a mission to get all toxic chemicals out of our home.

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 20, 2014

      I’ve been using a similar bar for ten years or so. But I think I’m sticking with no shampoo for the foreseeable.

      Like

  8. Expat Eye
    May 20, 2014

    Wow! It actually looks fine! I’ve never been one for conditioning and hot oils and all that bollox but I always thought shampoo was kind of essential πŸ˜‰ Seems like I might be wrong!

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 20, 2014

      It’s weird. I’m still a bit shocked. It looks okay but feels different.

      Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 20, 2014

        I’m not sure I’d make it through the oily phase!

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 20, 2014

        Its like dust. Once it reaches a certain level it doesn’t get any worse.

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 20, 2014

        Ha ha! Good analogy! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 20, 2014

        Putting cocoa powder on your head is a great comedy too!

        Like

  9. Angela Ewing
    May 20, 2014

    My friends never know that I haven’t showered for a couple of days. Yet, it’s harder when you travel with friends and they know who has used the shower or not. They look at you like you’ve grown two heads or something! It’s good to know that other people do the same. I don’t feel so bad now! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 20, 2014

      That’s great. I’m convinced that people’s assumptions have such a bad impact. On a recent conservation volunteer trip some volunteers showered three times in a day. This was even though we’d been asked to conserve water!

      Like

  10. bmary
    May 21, 2014

    Yey! I’m so glad no poo is working out for you! It’s tough, but you hung in there and now you get to enjoy the fabulous no fuss results! It keeps getting better, seriously. I was talking to a coworker and hair care came into question and I bet her $50 bucks she couldn’t guess the last time I washed it. After serious study, she guess three days. Try 4ish years! Ha! No, I didn’t take her money, it was a joke question anyway. It is funny how people react. Some people think it’s the coolest idea ever and some people just think it’s gross. If we were all the same, we’d all be dreadfully boring! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • bmary
      May 21, 2014

      Oh and thanks for the shout out! πŸ˜€

      Like

      • lizard100
        May 21, 2014

        No worries. It made such a difference to me. Wishing you a Good hair day!

        Like

      • bmary
        May 21, 2014

        It’s been good so far! After the wedding, I’m going to finally chop off my old dyed ends and try to grow it as long as possible. That ought to be an adventure!

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 21, 2014

        I’m curious about what will happen when I go swimming and when I see the hairdresser next though!

        Like

    • lizard100
      May 21, 2014

      That’s fantastic. Mine is still a bit varied but overall it’s nowhere near what you’d expect. In just glad I tried it.

      Like

      • bmary
        May 21, 2014

        I’m glad you did too! Welcome to the no poo club! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 21, 2014

        It’s great!

        Like

  11. Living Not Wanting
    May 22, 2014

    I have read a lot about no poo. I have not had the guts to try

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 22, 2014

      I waited a very long and almost so it by accident. I hasn’t really realised that you still wash your hair and brush it but can only use water. That makes it much more acceptable.

      Like

  12. litadoolan
    May 23, 2014

    Your hair looks great, healthy and a lovely colour. I have to say I think you are brave and full of perseverance to keep going. I’m glad this super reward of nice hair is at the end!

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 23, 2014

      Six weeks now and I feel like I’m over the worst!

      Like

      • litadoolan
        May 23, 2014

        Six! Well done. I tried this years ago but I thought it would be balanced out in a few days so gave up. I have long hair now n the ends are dry so honestly speaking this could work out now! May try over the summer. Can always pop a hat on for the first few weeks. Go you!

        Like

    • lizard100
      May 23, 2014

      Thanks for the lovely compliments too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2014 by in thrift and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,323 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

#snow #netherlands

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

