Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Jammin’ we’re jammin’!

So a mercy dash to the plot in the pouring rain. What for?

To get the vinegar. Of course!

So we’d been using the vinegar as a weed spray but it had a more pressing use at home.

Allotments are a great source of fruit. And when it comes, it comes in abundance.

20140511-181354.jpg

Last year when the blackcurrants were ready from our single bush, I made 27 jars of jam.

There’s none yet.

But the process is off putting. First the picking took an hour. Then picking off the bits and pieces and cleaning the fruit. The actually jam cooking is relatively short and sweet.

And if you need 27 good jars that can be another stage that takes time.

We save our jars. It’s a great recycling initiative. There’s three boxes stored in the bottom of a big pantry cupboard. Often we get donations too.

So last week in a dull moment I climbed into the jam jar store. First I sorted out the honey jars. All cute with lids featuring bees of course.

Then I started on the not-so-honey jars. We have a theory that if a jar looses it’s label in the wash and has a good metal lid it’s worth having. Other jars should be heading for the glass recycle.

The theory works until you need 27 jars.

Then it goes out the window. </

Time for the vinegar.

Taking labels off jam jars is messy, dull and time consuming. So we soak them in water and add some vinegar. The labels slide right off.

We commonly have red and black currants, strawberries, brambles and tonnes of raspberries.

There’s also apples, pears, choke berries, plums (maybe) and rhubarb to think about later.

So my suggestion is when it’s raining and there’s nothing else that can be done, I get the jars sorted.

20140511-182806.jpg

19 comments on “Jammin’ we’re jammin’!

  1. Living Not Wanting
    May 15, 2014

    Sounds fun!

    Like

  2. Buffy
    May 15, 2014

    I’ve never used vinegar for label removal! Thanks for the tip!

    Like

  3. Debra
    May 15, 2014

    I use vinegar for so many different purposes. There should be a holiday to celebrate the stuff. =)

    Like

  4. mylatinnotebook
    May 15, 2014

    I had the same predicament with rhubarb and tomatoes. The problem is I still I most of those jobs. Can’t eat or give them away fast enough!

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 15, 2014

      Keeping up is difficult!

      Like

    • lizard100
      May 15, 2014

      We ‘sun’ dried our tomatoes in the oven once and now have a dehydrator for the same job. Ten hours at 50 degrees c. Very easy. Just cut them in Half and add salt and pepper. You can jar them in oil for a bit or keep them dried depending on his dry they are.

      Like

      • wscottling
        May 15, 2014

        I love my dehydrator. My hubby thought I’d never use it, but it gets a lot of use. I can’t eat tomatoes (dried or otherwise), but I dry fruit all of the time.

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 15, 2014

        I have used mine for various things. And look forward to doing more thus year.

        Like

      • mylatinnotebook
        May 16, 2014

        My friend bought a dehydrator in France and let me use it on my tomatoes last summer. It worked quite well

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 16, 2014

        It’s handy. And when the produce is piling up having another method of using things helps.

        Like

  5. Agents of Field
    May 15, 2014

    Oooh, great tip there for jar-label removal. Thank you!
    AoF

    Like

  6. tootlepedal
    May 15, 2014

    Our blackcurrants are looking very promising so I will have to get my jars ready soon too.

    Like

  7. Rambling Woods
    May 16, 2014

    I use vinegar to disinfect things

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,712 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

mumercise

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

