Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

My wardrobe is dying: What still?

Now I’ve been reading posts about dying clothes and obviously I’ve done a bit myself.

My Wardrobe is Dying!

But one of the best things I’ve done is dye patterns.

The great thing is that patterns are full of surprises and I think safer than some plain things.

The reason being that a plain item in one colour becomes another colour. So you need to like the result.

If it’s patterned there’s a few chances and a greater element of surprise.

Each aspect of the pattern will respond to the dye differently dependent on the colour it starts out.

So here’s some examples.

A friend gave me this amazing skirt.

20140510-213241.jpg

I really liked the idea but the biscuit colour in the middle wasn’t really working for me.

So I got a turquoise dye because there was a kind of turquoise teal thing in part if it that was interesting. I added a bit if a blue dye in an attempt to tone it down a bit too.

20140510-213509.jpg

Then dampened the skirt and one or two other things, put the dye and salt in my washing machine, added the clothes, programmed the 40 degree wash and off it went.

Here’s the results.

20140510-213636.jpg

I love it.

One of my other pattern successes was this top.

A cream and brown top. It got the turquoise treatment too and it was a success. Now teal and brown.

20140510-214550.jpg

16 comments on “My wardrobe is dying: What still?

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    May 13, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post Liz thank you for sharing

    Like

  2. lizard100
    May 13, 2014

    Thanks Linda : )

    Like

  3. Expat Eye
    May 13, 2014

    Probably a stupid question, but can you be sure that the next few loads of washing won’t turn out blue as well?

    Like

    • lizard100
      May 13, 2014

      I’ve never had a problem. But I don’t have any pale clothes.

      Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 13, 2014

        Still need to get my washing machine fixed before any experiments anyway šŸ˜‰

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 13, 2014

        I didn’t like to mention it but your washing machine record could be a bad omen…

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 13, 2014

        Yeah, the house manager is coming tomorrow… he’ll be picking bits of knicker out of his hair afterwards probably. He’s cute though!

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 14, 2014

        I’ve a picture in my head of young good looking Latvian with head in a washing machine. And you giving him the hairy eyeball!

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 14, 2014

        Ha ha! No, I’m off men at the moment – but I guess there’s no harm in looking šŸ˜‰

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 14, 2014

        Always worth Ć  look.

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 14, 2014

        He made me hold it up in the air, stuck his head under it, came back out and said that he had no idea what the problem was… šŸ˜‰
        A professional repair guy is coming tomorrow!

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 14, 2014

        You with a washing machine in the air awesome. This is blog worthy! Photos? Please!!!!

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        May 14, 2014

        Ha ha, maybe – I’ll see how the whole thing plays out first!

        Like

      • lizard100
        May 14, 2014

        Ach. Don’t torment me!

        Like

  4. Rambling Woods
    May 16, 2014

    They came out great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2014 by in Refashion and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,806 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

