Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

A Cautionary Tale

Last November, at the allotment there was little going on. Most of the vegetable patches were cleared and the permanent plants were dormant.

It was cold and crisp. The sky was relatively clear. What happens at allotments on days like this?

Maintenance and weeding.
Checking things out. Looking for surprises like the odd parsnip. If there’s been frost they’ll be extra sweet.

So I spot that the cabbage family is a bit neglected and weedy looking. They’re a highlight of my veg plans. Last winter we had Brussels sprouts, red cabbage, broccoli and kohl rabi.

Cabbages are very tempting to birds in winter. Pigeons in particular can have a field day, stripping the leaves back to their central ribs.

To protect our precious winter greens, we had assembled a set of plastic tubing and covered it with netting. The nets are held in place with two pronged pins.

I fetched a kneeler (aka swimming float), my gloves and my favourite hand weeding tool. It looks like a claw! The chef set about checking the bee hive and doing some other bits and pieces.

I worked my way along the edge of the section, lifting the net, reaching for the weeds and clearing the dead yellow leaves too.

I worked into the corner fairly slowly. Then something moved. It was in the corner of my eye and initially I didn’t know what it was.

Commonly on our plot in winter we encounter hibernating toads on a regular basis. There are plenty of insects and the odd shrew.

I looked again.

Next to my hand, almost entirely camouflaged against the dull sandy soil was a small female blackbird.

She was motionless.

I looked at her.

She looked at me.

Unblinking.

We’ve had some unfortunate discoveries at the garden. The over head power lines have claimed a few casualties including a young heron. An Egyptian goose that hit once was fortunate enough to recover and fly away.

But this beautiful, brown blackbird lay there still.

Now normally blackbirds can be quite friendly but this one was too close.

I kept looking. She stared back. A big brown clear eye.

I thought she was dead.

Then finally she blinked.

A long slow blink.

I couldn’t believe my luck. It was a cold day. If this bird had been there much longer the weather or a cat would’ve finished her off.

So I reached out and picked her up.

The evil net was caught around her head and through her wing feathers.

A sharp knife was the only appropriate implement to hand. Thankfully it didn’t take long to free her.

20140422-201854.jpg

I checked her soft delicate plumage and her wings for obvious damage.

Then I placed her gently on the ground.

In no time she demonstrated that her wings were working, as she swooped over the fence across the neighbouring plot.

It was a very significant message to me.

Now we are very careful with the net we use and how we fix it. We make sure that we don’t leave any trailing areas that might catch an unsuspecting creature.

As a gardener I need to learn the messages that the garden gives me

I was very glad we met that bird that day.

And very sorry that she got caught.

13 comments on “A Cautionary Tale

  1. andy1076
    April 23, 2014

    You’ve made quite the difference in the little one’s day and received a lesson in return. What a day! 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      April 23, 2014

      Thanks. It was a bit nerve racking! But if came out well.

      Like

      • andy1076
        April 24, 2014

        Big cheers to that! 🙂

        Like

      • andy1076
        April 24, 2014

        Big cheers to that! 🙂

        Like

  2. wscottling
    April 23, 2014

    I’m glad the bird was okay.

    Like

  3. lindaswildlifegarden
    April 23, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    lovely post Liz

    Like

  4. bmary
    April 23, 2014

    Oh no, poor bird! I’m glad she’s ok!

    Like

  5. thecontentedcrafter
    April 23, 2014

    Yes 🙂

    Like

  6. cheergerm
    April 23, 2014

    Nice save, what a sweet little bird. We had a similar incident when a kookaburra (beautiful native Australian bird) flew into one of the boys little soccer nets. It was a tricky operation and the lads and I were pretty stressed. Out came my scissors and one destroyed soccer net later we had one happy unhurt bird, two happy boys and me.

    Like

    • lizard100
      April 23, 2014

      Well done. I was amazed how soft and calm she was. Our domestic birds don’t have such soft feathers. Felt really bad about it. We were netting today but oh so carefully.

      Like

  7. lisajagger1
    April 25, 2014

    I had to rescue two starlings from netting from my plot last Summer. I put a large plant pot over one, whilst I cut the netting away from the other, with the help of two plot neighbours. Ferocious little things are starlings, and they made their anger at being snared perfectly clear to us with their beaks (they have unbelievably long beaks). Both were successfully saved, and off they flew on their way.
    I make sure now that any netting is pulled really taut, and well pegged down as I never want to be responsible for that happening again.
    Thank goodness you spotted her.

    Like

    • lizard100
      April 26, 2014

      Thankfully she only squeezed my finger once with her long beak and it wasn’t painful glad to had success getting them out too. It makes you really think about the netting for sure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,230 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

