Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Recycle loop: loo rolls to root veg!

First we store our toilet roll tubes and kitchen roll tubes.

20140403-175313.jpg

(Both of these are made from recycled paper chez Lizard. This closes the loop where we recycle some of our paper waste.)

Top Tip
I fold all rolls flat for storage purposes. When we come to use them I also create a crease half way through the flat side so that when the tube is opened up it’s got a square profile.

This makes it easier to fill with compost and a more practical shape.

20140403-175132.jpg

This year after reading this green fingers post, I decided to use the tubes from the kitchen rolls for parsnips.

The plan is to have straighter parsnips this year hopefully.

So far the parsnips seem happy.

20140403-175924.jpg

20140403-180037.jpg

After mishaps in previous years, I started them off again on a damp tray on kitchen roll.

20140403-180441.jpg
This seems to help their notoriously poor germination.

We’re still eating last years crop so this is good news!

24 comments on “Recycle loop: loo rolls to root veg!

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    April 5, 2014

    awesome post

    Like

  2. silverbells2012
    April 5, 2014

    Aha! Trying parnips for the first time this and wondered if it was just me as they seem to be taking a very long time to germinate…. Hope yours will be nice and straight!

    Like

    • lizard100
      April 5, 2014

      The first year I put them straight on the plot. They blew away and disappeared. Now the germination process which takes a long time is easier to control but I also learned that parsnip seed is only good for one year so that might be another useful tip.

      Like

      • silverbells2012
        April 5, 2014

        Well, the seed is new but I will get more next year if this year is a success. How did your first lot blow away?

        Like

      • lizard100
        April 5, 2014

        They just seemed to disappear. Given that they are so light and delicate and our soil is so sandy I suspected that they flew away.

        Like

      • silverbells2012
        April 5, 2014

        Well, that is a shame but at least you still have plenty of growing season left!

        Like

      • lizard100
        April 5, 2014

        It was the first year about nine years ago. This year I was just neglectful of my germinating tray. So the new batch is doing fine.

        Like

      • silverbells2012
        April 5, 2014

        🙂

        Like

  3. tootlepedal
    April 5, 2014

    Interesting idea.

    Like

  4. truckerturningwrite
    April 5, 2014

    Wow, you guys walk the environmental walk.
    Great idea for loo rolls.

    Like

  5. wscottling
    April 6, 2014

    Have you ever seen this meme? https://www.recyclebank.com/media/LiveGreen2013/yourcard.png

    I started saving toilet paper rolls after I went on Pinterest a couple of years back, then I realized… I don’t garden! (which is what most people do with them) What am I gonna do with them all? I promptly recycled them all. Now I need them for when I wind very thin yarn that I harvest from sweaters. *sigh*

    Like

  6. Rambling Woods
    April 6, 2014

    Really….. That is such a creative idea

    Like

  7. hollymayroberts
    April 6, 2014

    I’ve never had success with loo roll but your tips sound very positive! Great post!

    Like

  8. lizard100
    April 6, 2014

    It gets a bit like that. We save jars as well then people kindly give us jars. But we can’t make jam in winter!

    Like

  9. Ayana
    April 6, 2014

    Ok. After looking at this post I need to save all our toilet paper and paper towel rolls. I used to save them for crafts. Now I need to save them for gardening. Genius!

    Like

    • lizard100
      April 6, 2014

      That’s brilliant! I’m really pleased. We have a basket in the bathroom where they are stored flat. I’ve just used 96 to plant almost two hundred peas! There were about twenty left from a year of saving them. The square profile is really handy!

      Like

  10. Lin
    April 6, 2014

    Such a great idea!!

    Like

  11. gillianspeace
    April 9, 2014

    Brilliant!

    Like

  12. Dan
    January 27, 2015

    What a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2014 by in allotment, recycling and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,883 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

