Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Friday and food: saving sprouts!

So I’ve written about Brussels sprouts in a recipe with gnocchi and the cooking man has a version of his great quiche that uses them.

I think they are the great unsung veggie hero and I need to champion their cause as sprout season is over.

The patch where we’ve grown them through the winter has been cleared for the soon to be ready potatoes.

Boo hoo!

The good news is that the bee sprout seedlings are germinating

And

When we cleared the patch I collected a good few gorgeous tender specimens.

Now no one wants to eat the same veg every day for a week.

I wanted to share what I did with the extra harvest this year.

It’s a challenge. Frozen shop bought sprouts are the vilest things ever!

So if I’m going to freeze my tender sweet babies I can’t afford to create demons.

First I sorted them by size.

20140319-093122.jpg

Small, medium and large. We technically small was teeny, weany!

Then I googled!

Two minutes in boiling water for small, three for medium and four for large! That’s called blanching! I blanched and froze green beans earlier in the gardening calendar and they’ve been successful so far.

Have cold iced water on hand to plunge them into and stop the cooking process.

Top Tip
After cooling you’re meant to dry them. I used a salad spinner to do this.

When cold package them up label and date then freeze.

(We’ve only had a freezer this year and I’m determined not to encounter too many unidentified frozen objects!)

20140319-093558.jpg

20140319-093541.jpg

When we eat them I will attempt to update on the differences/similarities to the shop bought soggy cotton wool nightmares!

9 comments on “Friday and food: saving sprouts!

  1. silverbells2012
    March 21, 2014

    I’m sure they will be nothing like the shop-bought sort!

    My blanched and frozen green beans also did well. Not quite as good as eating straight off the plant but great there were no food miles involved.

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 22, 2014

      I hope so. We also sautéed fore pans of sliced courgettes and they worked well as did the beans. Here’s hoping!

      Like

  2. tootlepedal
    March 21, 2014

    I love sprouts but we don’t grow them so I wait until fresh ones are in the shops.

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 22, 2014

      I really like growing them for their alien-ness!

      Like

  3. disappearingwoman
    March 22, 2014

    I’m sure they’ll be great. My mother froze our fresh sprouts from the garden in the same way and they were always delicious.

    Like

  4. Rambling Woods
    March 22, 2014

    Well…I may have to give them another try….

    Like

  5. Jenni
    March 22, 2014

    I going for an open mind but the store bought sprout has scarred me for life I feel, add that to my mothers cooking (attempt at cooking is more accurate) and what we have is a food memory begging to be repressed. However I am trying very hard to get past that as I grow my own and cook from scratch so I will look forward to hearing if it is possible to retain freshness in a sprout once frozen and then unfrozen. Good luck and I wish you the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2014 by in allotment, vegetables and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,196 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

