Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Tuesday is craft night: share those skills!

The TV is ready for the great British Sewing Bee series 2. (Still sorry this isn’t familiar if you live in the US….)

Meanwhile back on my sofa….
Or another sofa….

Tuesday is craft night.

“I can only make squares!”
“I can only go in a straight line!”

That was how it all started.

An exchange in a staff room at lunchtime. A group of people talking about crochet and other crafts.

I first crocheted as a young person and made that eponymous blanket. Then I took a break for twenty five years or so.

20140317-222742.jpg

As part of my greener lifestyle plan, I decided that being able to make clothes would be handy so I made an effort to pick up that hook.

As a result of wearing my efforts, other people at my work took an interest until this conversation above took place.

As a result we decided to get together and share skills.

20140317-222526.jpg

Once a month for the last six, a group of my colleagues and I get together. We take it in turns to host and there are rules.

20140317-222612.jpg

It’s the last Thursday or Tuesday of the month, no baking is allowed.

That way none of us feels obliged to overdo the catering and hospitality on a week night.

We can bring along anything we fancy; crochet, knitting, cross stitch, embroidery.
Everyone has skills to help each other.

In the time we’ve been meeting all manner of projects, sheep, clothing, dolls, scarves, hats and other things.

It’s been a great opportunity to benefit from this store of wisdom to improve ribs and do more than squares.

We also eat cake and drink tea. It’s a far better week night than normal!

We’ve also learned that skills can be shared and acquired even if they come from different sources.

20140317-222707.jpg

20140317-222941.jpg

18 comments on “Tuesday is craft night: share those skills!

  1. The Crazy Crone
    March 18, 2014

    What a great idea. Good stuff πŸ˜€

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 18, 2014

      These days people often notice that skills are being lost. This is one way to tackle the problem.

      Like

  2. silverbells2012
    March 18, 2014

    I am still at the stage of crocheting squares lol. Need a craft circle like yours to take me forward I think πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. tootlepedal
    March 19, 2014

    Good idea.

    Like

  4. fiftytwofancies
    March 19, 2014

    Sounds like fun! Nice to be able to learn new ways to do things.

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 19, 2014

      It’s been very simple and very useful. Two ideal traits!

      Like

  5. Jenni
    March 19, 2014

    Completely intimidated – am not at all crafty – it looks like really bad abstract art even when I try hard.

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 19, 2014

      Noooooh. This is a way to get over that hurdle. Honest. It’s possible to choose your ‘experts’ carefully. Clever unassuming people who want to help! Honest!

      Like

      • Jenni
        March 19, 2014

        Honest hand on heart pinky swear when I try craft – bad things happen. I am great in the kitchen, can do just about anything with a computer and have a memory like a data base.

        But craft and I – wow – I’ve glued my eye shut once, sewed my clothes to what I was stitching, dropped steel shears point first through my big toe and have been punctured in various places with pins. It is just not meant to be.

        Like

      • lizard100
        March 19, 2014

        Ow! Maybe the cooking skills are better shared then! Wow! That’s scary!

        Like

      • Jenni
        March 19, 2014

        Told you – scary it is.

        Like

      • lizard100
        March 19, 2014

        Cool!

        Like

  6. Rambling Woods
    March 20, 2014

    My Mom died in the fall of 2012. I miss her and her always busy hands

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 21, 2014

      It’s good to recognise and share those skills and knowledge. I’m sorry for your loss.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2014 by in crochet, home made and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,884 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

