Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Mystery Tree Monday

So some of you may have seen yesterday that I joined a blog group who will each follow a tree.

I signed up on the unexpectedly warmest day of spring so far, with a whole garden load of other things to do.

But fear not. Thankfully the organiser has set up the project so that a link compilation is available for a week. I’ve had time to start being more thorough about my tree.

20140310-182604.jpg

This is the north facing trunk. It has quite a lot if growth on it.

Here’s the same section but more close up. There are also little clusters of a leafier lichen too. They’re here.

Then to the south it looks like this:

20140310-182759.jpg

20140310-182832.jpg

But I found it most interesting to the west where it has a rust coloured covering.

20140310-182924.jpg

The tree is surrounded on the south side by lavender plant. We added these ourselves about three years ago and the council workers weed around them now. On the north they never grew. We’ve tried new plants twice.

I’ll be trying to identify it with more effort shortly but it is quite hard without leaves.

For now here’s a close up of a twig it she’d last year. I bet the suspense is getting to you!

P

20140310-183219.jpg

Does that have a face?

Update

I think it’s

An

Ash!

9 comments on “Mystery Tree Monday

  1. Pingback: Following a tree | Green Lizard's Blog

  2. The Crazy Crone
    March 10, 2014

    The top half reminds me of the face of a snake. Having had plenty of close encounters of the snake kind when I lived in Queensland, snakes don’t worry me too much now. I mean, I don’t exactly want to pet them, but they are part of the ecosystem and generally try to stay out of your way.

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 10, 2014

      Nice idea. Not much of a snake land here though.

      Like

  3. rabthepict
    March 10, 2014

    Mini totem pole 🙂

    Like

  4. oneorganicjamaican
    March 10, 2014

    I’m loving this idea of following a tree. Where do I find out more?

    Like

  5. Lucy Corrander
    March 10, 2014

    Lichens are fascinating. Looking forward to seeing your tree come into leaf as well. Are you sufficiently confident this is an ash that I should say so on the Tree Following page? http://tinyurl.com/bv6pzt5

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 11, 2014

      I’m pretty sure it is now. I’ve used a tree ID app, a website and the RHS Encyclopedia of plants.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2014 by in conservation and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 52,230 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

