Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Real men do make …. GF gnocchi and sprouts

This is the second in a series showcasing the household chef and his talents in the kitchen.

real men do make … quiche

Many people envy me and the delicious aromas wafting through the house as I stumble in the door each evening.

It’s true enough that I’m lucky to have my own personal food genius in the house.

The cooking is veggie and yummy and generally gluten free too.

So Brussels sprouts?

Soggy blobs of bitter, green, flaccidity that many people eat out of tradition rather than choice. Right?

Wrong, so very wrong!

I’m nervous. If we reveal this recipe more people may start eating them.

If more people start eating them with enthusiasm there could be a shortage.

If there’s a shortage I won’t be able to get them.

Oh, hang on we grow our own. Phew!

Okay then here goes. This isn’t an italian way to do this. The recipe is inspired by Cafe Paradiso, Cork city, Eire

The owner, Denis Cotter, writes amazing cook books and makes amazing food.

You need (for the gnocchi) :

Cool, boiled, mashed potatoes. (About 6 he says)
A beaten egg
Flour (gluten free if you need it.)
Grated, vegetarian, hard, Italian cheese

20140303-200009.jpg

1. Mix the above ingredients together in a saucepan
2. Form the mash mix into small, oval shapes the size of a walnut
3. Set aside while you make the sauce
4. Then drop into boiling water for two minutes when the sauce is ready. They float when cooked.

20140303-193922.jpg

you will need (for the sauce):
Quartered raw Brussels sprouts
Finely chopped chives
One chopped clove garlic

Grated cheese (also works amazingly with blue cheese!)
Soya milk
Corn flour
1 tablespoon Mustard (optional)

1. Sauté the vegetables briefly.
2. Stir two teaspoons of corn flour into the milk or soya milk then pour over the vegetables in the pan. Keep stirring. (Add mustard if you like.)
Add the cheese and a little more milk.

Pour sauce over the gnocchi and serve with more cheese grated cheese.

It won’t last long!

20140303-194217.jpg

21 comments on “Real men do make …. GF gnocchi and sprouts

  1. The Crazy Crone
    March 7, 2014

    I am one of those weird people who love brussels sprouts! Sadly, you can’t get hold of them here in North Cyprus as the climate doesn’t suit their production. I shall however drool over your recipe!

    Like

  2. bmary
    March 7, 2014

    I adore brussel sprouts! Even when I was a kid! Yum!

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 7, 2014

      Me too. Love ’em! They are now bred to be sweeter than the old days!

      Like

      • bmary
        March 7, 2014

        I remember I had one as a kid and I had no idea what it was and I loved it because it was like a mini cabbage. I never found out what they were till I was older, apparently my parents didn’t like them!

        Like

      • lizard100
        March 7, 2014

        Oooooh! I like the min cabbage idea!

        Like

  3. quarteracrelifestyle
    March 7, 2014

    Love them too!

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 7, 2014

      It looks like there’s plenty of sprout lovers around!

      Like

  4. thecontentedcrafter
    March 7, 2014

    You followed me! 🙂 I followed you back here – and what a great recipe! I love gnocchi and haven’t eaten it in years….. that’s about to change! I’m following you now too 🙂

    Like

  5. silverbells2012
    March 8, 2014

    Sounds interesting.. I’ve never really known what to do with sprouts. Hence, haven’t so far attempted to grow them….

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 8, 2014

      We tend to like them best pan fried. The secret is not to overcook them though. They’re also great steamed or you can eat them raw in salad, finely shredded. They’re a good winter crop. We’ve done well this year with sprouts, Jerusalem artichokes, red cabbage and potatoes we’ve stored right up till now.

      Like

      • silverbells2012
        March 8, 2014

        That’s great… Actually, when my used to do sprouts in the pressure cooker till they were soggy I did like them, but clearly we are talking a very different world.

        Like

      • lizard100
        March 8, 2014

        It’s a very different vegetable then : )

        Like

      • silverbells2012
        March 9, 2014

        Absolutely!

        Like

  6. Rambling Woods
    March 9, 2014

    Oh my goodness..you brought back and memory from childhood of my sister and I trying to hide the brussels sprouts under our plates…anywhere. We finally found that you could flock them on to the floor and then kick then under the cabinet if you were lucky. Mostly we weren’t lucky..LOl…. Michelle

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 9, 2014

      I love sprouts. But it does depend how they are cooked!

      Like

      • Rambling Woods
        March 9, 2014

        These were frozen…oh yuck.. Mom was not a good cook at all..lol

        Like

      • lizard100
        March 9, 2014

        Frozen Brussels! I think I would draw the line there!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2014 by in vegetarian and tagged , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,719 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

