Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Gluten free vegetarian Savoury Pancake experiment

I wasn’t going to do posts with strong date related content like Christmas or valentines but by coincidence today is a little different.

I thought I’d give this buckwheat pancake mix a whirl after I found it in my mum’s cupboard.

20140304-172406.jpg

I used two thirds of it as I couldn’t find a reference to how many it made. The pack contained 375 grams and called for three eggs so I figured two thirds was a good option. In the end I made about ten pancakes with that.

The other part was an experiment with ‘no mou’ cheese substitute. I wanted to see if I could make a cheese sauce with it.

You will need (according to the packet)
For the pancakes:
Two eggs
250g of the pack (or use gluten free flour)
Water 160ml
milk or similar 60ml
Butter or non dairy equivalent. to cook them

For the savoury filling:
One courgette diced
One small onion finely chopped
Ten mushrooms quartered
A little vegetable oil

20140304-172505.jpg

>For the sauce:</em
Heaped tablespoon corn flour
Gated cheese it non dairy cheese
Milk or non dairy milk
1 tsp Mustard

What to do:
First make the pancake batter by whisking all the ingredients with a fork. Then beat if to add more air and leave it to one side.
I wanted my mix a little thinner so I added more soya milk. It should cove the back of the spoon and be a bit like runny custard thickness.

Next pan fry the veggies in a little oil.

20140304-172653.jpg

Then mix the corn flour in a cup with a little soya milk. Heat remaining milk add corn flour mix and stir with attention to stop it going suddenly lumpy.
Stir in the grated cheese or non cheese and the mustard.

Turn off the heat and put the sauce and veg to one side.

Pancake instructions:

Heat two frying pans and melt a large knob of butter or non dairy equivalent.
Pour off the excess butter make sure it doesn’t get too hot.

20140304-172605.jpg

Add a small ladle of pancake butter to each hot frying pan. Tip the pan to spread the batter across the pan.
When you see the batter solidify flip it with a spatula.
Repeat until there’s no batter left.

<strong top Tip
The first one is usually not the best. Avoid adding too muck batter and pay attention to what works. Pancakes can be tricky.

Reheat the veg and sauce.

The pancakes can be presented with the veg tucked inside and sauce on it let people assemble their own.

Serve with a side salad.

The verdict

The pancake mix was great. Our cheese sauce was very thick but tasted good. I plan to check the website to see how they suggest the pancakes should be made.

20140304-172749.jpg

2 comments on “Gluten free vegetarian Savoury Pancake experiment

  1. Kerry OReilly
    March 5, 2014

    Looking good Jonesy! Making me feel hungry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2014 by in gluten free, vegetarian and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,992 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated