Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beetroot Risotto my way

When I cook I like to make risotto. Usually with mushrooms, occasionally with beetroot or butternut squash.

I think the beetroot is the most unusual one.

Ingredients for two people
(and left overs!)

These measurements are more accurate than I really am but I tried to describe approximate amounts. The stock is crucial have some spare or extra.

What you need:

A little oil
Clove of garlic finely chopped
One finely chopped onion
1 mug of rice ( I do use risotto rice but other rice works too)
1 mug of wine (with beetroot rose is a favourite! But white will also do well)
2 mugs of warm stock roughly. I use a stick cube. We have these amazing onion ones.
Cue photo.
Grated hard cheese
Two small or one medium cooked beetroot diced

20140228-162947.jpg

(Now there’s a lot of emphasis put on risotto. Stirring, stock etc which is fine on TV but we eat it when more complex food requires too much effort so it’s up to you if you want complex risotto and realistically you can then use Jamie or Delia’s instructions instead.)

20140228-163246.jpg

What I do:

1. Fry the onion in a saucepan but not too hot. It just needs to sweat a while.
2. Add the rice to the pan for a minute.
3. Just when to get nervous throw in half the wine. It should sizzle!
4. I usually add the garlic now. I have to burn it with the onion.
5. When it’s simmering turn done the heat and watch it a bit.
6. If the level of liquid starts to look too little then add the rest of the wine. That cools it a bit so wait for it to start simmering again. Maybe a bit more heat.
7. Repeat 5 watching, stirring if you feel like it. The rice should start to swell eventually (so about ten mins I guess)
8. Then throw in the cooked beetroot. You want to give it time to share the colour it has with the rice.
9. Taste the rice. If it’s crunchy repeat 5.
10. Taste the rice. If it’s not crunchy. Stir in half the grated cheese. Let people add the remaining cheese to their own plate.

I never add salt. There is salt in the stock. If you want salt add it yourself.

We’d eat it with steamed broccoli. Then we try to keep what’s left for lunch the next day.

Enjoy!

20140228-163357.jpg

2 comments on “Beetroot Risotto my way

  1. Ani
    February 28, 2014

    I made a beet risotto for the holidays and it was a hit! It had kale and rosemary in it and was delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2014 by in vegetarian and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,719 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

