Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Food glorious Food!

20140209-214638.jpg

Gotta dig
Gotta hoe
Gotta build
Gotta sow!

So it’s been cold rainy and miserable for far too long. Trying to keep inspired for the garden is hard. There’s lots of things that need doing and some are getting delayed.

I figure the best thing to do just now is visualise what’s coming.

Gardeners are often accused of rushing forwards in the hope of a better season or a keener crop, a bigger harvest. Having time to stop and reflect is lucky then.

Asparagus is one of my favourites. It starts to appear while the ground is still bare. It looks ludicrous sticking out of the ground and us one veg that non gardens struggle to picture.

20140209-215125.jpg

Pumpkin family also makes me laugh. It’s such a huge plant. This one was shark fin melon and I was convinced it would cover the entire plot. The plant seemed to advance by the hour. We had about fifty fruits of a range of sizes.

20140209-215438.jpg

That’s a tiny selection!

20140209-215749.jpg

There’s delicious meals to come. And in particularly enjoy the odd ones like these purple violetta potatoes!

20140211-194053.jpg

9 comments on “Food glorious Food!

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    February 10, 2014

    Lovely post many thanks do you have the melons in a greenhouse or outside ?

    Like

  2. Sarah
    February 21, 2014

    Thanks for sharing that snippet of summer 🙂 Are you still eating last year’s stored fruit and veg, or has it all gone?

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 21, 2014

      We’ve managed to still have parsnips, potatoes, Brussels sprouts, Jerusalem artichokes and red cabbage to this point. The carrots were fairly good too. We stored frozen sautéed courgette and French beans after it learned to blanch them and there’s a couple of pumpkins. So we did really well. After a poor start we had one of our best years. How did you get on?

      Like

  3. greenandthrifty
    February 22, 2014

    I adore those potatoes! I’ve never seen them that shade before. How fun. I have my seeds started and am looking forward to watching them grow and sharing that coolness with my kids. Congratulations on such a good year!

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 22, 2014

      They are gorgeous. It’s a shock that they taste like normal potatoes too. What’s your plan for growing this year? Anything unusual?

      Like

      • greenandthrifty
        February 22, 2014

        Well, unusual for us, I’m growing beets. We’ve never tried them. If we don’t like them my husband can take them in to work and give them away. 🙂 everything else is pretty normal but most of it is stuff I’ve never grown. I should try my hand at potatoes, shouldn’t I? We do like them. I think I will.

        Like

      • lizard100
        February 22, 2014

        Potatoes are great. We love beetroot too but it often doesn’t succeed for us.

        Like

      • greenandthrifty
        February 23, 2014

        I found purple potatoes while I was out today! I totally got them. 😀

        Like

      • lizard100
        February 23, 2014

        Wowzars! That’s awesome! You’ll love them!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2014 by in allotment, grow your own, organic, vegetables and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,323 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

#snow #netherlands

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

