Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Winter warmers for your ankles

20140215-174033.jpg

I’ve got skinny ankles. I know I shouldn’t complain but they’re not in great proportion with the rest of me.
I like ankle boots.

I’ve seen ankle boots with wooly extensions around the ankle.

I see a solution coming on here.

Make your own wooly ankle warmers or ankle boot cuffs

Be prepared this is a vague process reliant on a few personal preferences. I often crochet without a pattern and have never written instructions before so if you’re used to real patterns beware! Apologies in advance to real crochet pattern buffs. The ankle warmers are chunky and I used round the post trebles to create a ribbed effect.

You will need:
Thick wool in your chosen colour.
A thick crochet hook around size 6
Six 2 cm buttons

Weigh the wool! In other words this is a stash buster and you can decide to make each one with about half the wool. I guessed.

Instructions (make 2)

Make 50 chain and measure. Then measure round ankle. (if you have bigger ankles make more chain)
Row 1 Turn chain two (acts as first treble here and throughout). Treble in every chain (51 trebles)
Row 2 Two chain, treble round front post on each treble. (51 front post trebles)
Row 3 two chain, treble round back post I each treble (51 back post trebles)
Repeat row 2 and 3 until you have a deep enough ankle warmer. Finish off. Darn in ends.

Sew three buttons on the side of each rectangular strip. The trebles make natural button holes.

Before

20140215-175706.jpg

After

20140215-175759.jpg

4 comments on “Winter warmers for your ankles

  1. Sarah
    February 15, 2014

    Nicely done. Stash busting patterns always good to bookmark!

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 15, 2014

      They are a bit odd but I like them. Thank you.

      Like

  2. Yogini Tiff
    February 24, 2014

    very cute.. after moving from a tropical to subtropical climate.. i am learning to dress differently in winter time.. and these ankle warmers look like EXACTLY what i need. 😉

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 24, 2014

      Thank you. Of course now that I’ve blogged about them one is missing! Just my luck. You can also make something similar from jumper sleeves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2014 by in crochet and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,323 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

#snow #netherlands

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

