Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

If you can’t beat ’em…..

So you’re moving to Holland?

Can you speak Dutch?
Have you ever been there?
Do you know anyone?
Can you ride a bike?

You’d think that answering ‘no’ to all of the above might have put me off.

When I first came to The Netherlands all these things were beyond my experience.

I’d been to the country once. For a day.

Fast forward a few, a lot, loads of , several, years.

20140213-204021.jpg

That’s me in the front.
Yes, I know, it’s not a BIcycle!

The first three aspects of unfamiliarity were a simple sustained effort to change.

Spend time put in an effort gradually improve.

After a few years here I managed to do this:

20140213-204533.jpg

…get married in a Dutch ceremony in the town hall. (To a scot who speaks Dutch too.)

Challenge number four was a lot harder. I did try.
But I finally concluded that it was wiser to find another solution.

20140213-204823.jpg

My three wheels are perfect for me. And cycling in The Netherlands is as great as you’ve heard, especially in the spring.

It’ll be here soon. I can’t wait.

8 comments on “If you can’t beat ’em…..

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    February 13, 2014

    lovely post and thanks for sharing

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 13, 2014

      Thanks for reading 😃

      Like

      • lindaswildlifegarden
        February 14, 2014

        stuck on 3 question before I can post my blog re award

        Like

      • lizard100
        February 14, 2014

        Three was tricky. I think I’d want cheese, tomato, beetroot, onion and advocado.

        Like

  2. alderandash
    February 14, 2014

    Good for you! Moving to another country is a leap, isn’t it. I lived in Thailand for a few years – every day felt like an adventure in the early months (sometimes good, sometimes alarming/confusing!). Your bike looks very cool…

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 14, 2014

      It was a big step. Ant imagine living elsewhere now though 😃

      Like

  3. bmary
    March 14, 2014

    Fabulous! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2014 by in environment and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,060 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

#mushroom #netherlands #fungi #foraging #woodland #nature

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

