Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Historic Liebster Award for new blogs

20140213-192946.jpg

So I’ve been paying attention to this blog for ten days. Officially I opened the site a while ago but it was like a New Years resolution, much aimed for and neglected.

Then today, some 12 days since the 1st February, when I set to to make a proper commitment a strange and wonderful thing.
I received an award. The historic Liebster Award aimed at new bloggers. What. A lovely thing. And what a big responsibility.
I’m truely honored to receive this award from Lita. Thank you.

lita doolan’s blog

I’m getting to grips with this process but here are the rules.
The Rules:

(1) Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog

(2) You must answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you.

(3) Nominate 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination.

(4) Come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

The 10 Questions I was asked:

(1) What is your favourite building to look at?

The Eddystone lighthouse that stands on Plymouth hoe in the uk. It’s on a large open green space where it was transported when it became unfit for its lonely location at sea.i like the idea it’s no longer isolated but it’s also a lighthouse which is very cool.

(2) Is there a city that has changed you in some way (if so which one)?

I’m not really a cities kind of person but I guess moving to The Hague from the uk was pretty significant as most of my adult live has been spent in The Netherlands as a result.

(3) On a day off what museum or gallery would you visit?

The Panorama Mesdag in The Hague, houses a single massive painting. I think it’s 140 m in circumference and 17 m high. Because of the glass roof the weather outside influences this amazing landscape painting. It has such a great atmosphere and is a well kept secret.

(4) If you were putting a raft together to survive the floods what would be your secret building material (it can be crazy or practical)?

Chocolate! If you are going to be on a raft you need chocolate!

(5) If food had no calories what would you fill your table and plate with?

(Resist temptation to repeat answer to Q4) great vegetables from my garden! I really love veg. It can be curried, baked, roasted and has such a number of ways to be prepared!

(6) What is your favorite method of transport?

Boat. When you are floating on water the world is a better place!

(7) Do you remember the first time you smiled and around what age were you?

Not really but I have generally smiled a lot!

(8) What (who or where) inspires your writing?

That’s tricky. I like to write about a lot of things. Currently I guess the crazy answer is my blog. I’m enjoying it so much that I’m having to resist posting too much.

(9) What is your favourite body of water (ocean, pool, spa…)?

The giant bay next to a tiny peninsula called walindi in New Britain, Papua New Guinea. It’s the most fantastic dive site in the world!

(10) What advice would you give to your younger self (fun, fictional or factual)?

Don’t worry about it. You’ll be alright!

I hope you enjoy these questions! Hearty thanks for the brilliant contributions you make.

(1)
These highly enjoyable blogs I nominate are in no particular order:
http://lindaswildlifegarden.wordpress.com

http://green-and-thrifty.com

http://livingontheveg.wordpress.com

https://alderandash.wordpress.com

http://shadycharacter.wordpress.com

http://abeekeeperswife.wordpress.com/

http://frustratedgardener.com

http://missapismellifera.com

http://realwomensow.wordpress.com

http://notjustgreenfingers.wordpress.com

The 10 Questions that I am asking YOU.

1. What new skill (crazy or sensible) would you like to learn and why?

2. Who inspires you and why?

3. Regardless of compatibility, what top five would go in your ideal sandwich?

4. What’s the most unusual object in your home?

5. The book that changed your life?

6. How would you spend £20.00 as a treat, splurge or surprise?

7. Take us on your favorite journey. Where to and from and what’s the on the way stuff that makes the journey memorable?

8. Is there something that you really couldn’t do that surprised you?

9. You’ve packed your bag with everything you actually need on a trip. What’s the one thing you have to check before you leave the house?(apart from your travel documents)

10. What’s your preferred comfortable spot to take in the view or passers-by in the world?

7 comments on “Historic Liebster Award for new blogs

  1. litadoolan
    February 13, 2014

    Ah the Hague I would love to visit. I have seen beautiful paintings and photos.

    Congratulations to all nominated blogs. They have such exciting titles and I am so looking forward to my visits there, discovering new worlds and having a read.

    These answers to the questions were beautiful to read! So glad to know a little more about you. Happy days. 🙂

    Like

  2. notjustgreenfingers
    February 13, 2014

    Thanks for nominating my blog, it’s very kind of you

    Like

  3. lindaswildlifegarden
    February 13, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    awesome

    Like

  4. Sarah
    February 14, 2014

    Thank you for the nomination too 🙂 I assumed you’d been blogging for years, more than 12 days certainly! And it’s lovely to read insights into what inspires you. I will answer the 10 questions here as I have a personal rule of never forwarding chain letters, so won’t send on to other people and therefore by the rules cannot put on my blog. But as it’s nice to know bits about people:
    1. Hen keeping as I am very fussy about where eggs I use or eat have come from
    2. Recently, Germaine Greer (again) having heard her White Beech book serialised on BBC radio 4
    3. Gherkin, tomato, organic mayo, black pepper and a sage & onion vegan slice
    4. The fertility statues sent as a wedding gift from my friend in Chile
    5. Pedagogy of the Oppressed – Paulo Freire
    6. Garden centre – a herbaceous perennial and tea and cake for the boys – easy!!
    7. Queensland to South Australia via NSW and Victoria – the gum trees make ethereal backdrops with their muted colours and heady eucalypt scents. Closer to home: the A49 from Ross-on-Wye right up to Tarporley. It takes in quintessential British landscapes. I used to drive it often, but not recently. I miss the Welsh borders.
    8. YES! Write up my PhD. I had done the hard work, so I thought. What was far harder in fact was conveying it eloquently in a language I had to learn to speak (academic). Although I did actually do it, it just took forever. But It all went through on Tuesday this week 🙂
    9. I’m terrible for checking that the cooker is off about twenty times, no unnecessary electric items plugged in. Then I go back and check I’ve locked the door at least 3 times!
    10. We’ve found little vegan cafes in places like Ponsonby, Aukland and St Kilda Melbourne where it just great to sit back and watch the world go by. I also really love the Greak Oak cafe in Llanidloes mid-Wales, but with far fewer people to watch.

    I look forward to reading more about your hen keeping and veg growing exploits. You never know, you might make me ‘need’ hens so much that I find somewhere to keep some 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 14, 2014

      Thank you. Really enjoyed your answers and learned from them. I think that sandwich really works for me too!
      I’ve been to Ross on Wye about twenty years ago.
      Maybe the Australia trip is worth thinking about after all.

      Chickens will blow you away! They are amazing!

      Like

  5. Morguie
    March 2, 2014

    Congratulations on the award. It was very interesting to learn about you through your answers and I am intrigued by the questions you pose to your nominees. And pardon me for jumping in with my opinion here, but about considering Australia, DO! I went to the Gold Coast several years ago and no vacation since has been able to measure up to that wonderful, fabulous trip! I have never been to Europe but hope to, someday in the not too distant future.
    To Sarah: Yes, everyone should have a few chickens. Once you become accustomed to having those tasty FRESH eggs from your own flock, you’ll never want to eat the kind from a grocery store again. Besides, chickens have little personalities all their own, they really do. And attitudes! 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 2, 2014

      Thanks for this really considered response. I was very flattered by the award. Australia is so very far away. Maybe a digital visit is enough.
      I totally agree on the chickens. They are such characters. The sun is really shining today and they are keg. For us to let them out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2014 by in Blogging and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 51,204 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

