Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Egg-xactly!

20140212-165812.jpg

The days are getting longer. It’s not as dark when I leave the house in the mornings. This means only one thing.

It’s egg time.

Chick, chick, chick, chick, chicken lay a little egg for me.
I haven’t had one since Easter and now it’s half past three!

Chickens don’t lay unless there’s a long day of light. So soon they’ll hopefully get the notion.

Laying an egg is a strange process. We have three hens at present. They are Japanese bantams. A small variety for our small back yard. They are feisty and funny at the same time.

At one point last year the appeared to have stopped laying but the we discovered the basket above.

They even disappeared themselves too.

20140212-170532.jpg.

That basket lives under a chair. They obviously like it!

Here they are in action!

11 comments on “Egg-xactly!

  1. greenandthrifty
    February 12, 2014

    I’d love to have chickens but my husband would never allow it. We already have a cat and a dog and that’s almost too much for him. Ah well. Maybe someday. Yours are lovely though. I do have a question though, how do you keep them from pooping all over your nice floors when you let them in the house?! That would be a deal breaker forever for my husband.

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 12, 2014

      They come in uninvited and are usually not meant to. But we do get the odd accident. They are so cheeky.

      Like

  2. Sarah
    February 13, 2014

    Fabulous! Like greenandthrifty, I would love to have chickens but so would my spaniels – a little too much. Hens and bees are both on my future wish list. I also love that you ignore their trespass, they must keep you entertained for ages.

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 13, 2014

      They are hilarious! I’m sure they can talk!

      Like

  3. disappearingwoman
    February 13, 2014

    My grandparents always had chickens and I absolutely loved them. I have wonderful memories of feeding and watering them, and gathering the eggs. They had a rooster named George who would come into the sunroom and hang out with my grandfather. You’re right, they are cheeky!

    Like

    • lizard100
      February 13, 2014

      We’ve got no rooster in town but one of ours can do great impersonations!

      Like

  4. Morguie
    February 13, 2014

    They looked like our buff orpingtons…and yes, I would have 6 fits if I were to find them inside my house! Yours don’t poop? lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2014 by in chickens, home made, organic, self sufficiency and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,884 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

