Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Grow our Own

20140202-185949.jpg
Our allotment is ten metres by about fourteen. It sits in the clichéd position by the railway line with pylons overhead. It’s the land that no one really wants. To me there’s irony there by the bucket load as allotments, victory gardens, vegetable plots or however you know them are places which their tenants hold very dear indeed.
We’ve had ours for about eight years. It’s been a journey of learning, hard work and disappointments. You are at the mercy if the weather, the temperature, your time and enthusiasm.
We seem to be on an up just now and have plans for raised beds and a climbing frame for our cucumbers and pumpkins this year. So today was the day we sunk metal supports in the ground and started to raise the main beams.
Meanwhile we managed to lay some additional covering tarpaulin to suppress some weeds.
The spring bulbs I planted in September are starting to appear and the onions, garlic and broad beans are poking through.
What I’ve learned is that plots like ours have patience; they will tolerate neglect or enthusiasm with equal measure as you develop the skill and ideas to tend them.

2 comments on “Grow our Own

  1. Dragon Fruit Photography
    June 14, 2014

    This post reminds me growing up in Poland. We also had a small plot outside the city we lived in and grew our own fruits and veggies. I loved going there as a kid. Now a couple decades later I’m in Canada and rediscovered my passion for growing veggies. This year I planted tomatoes, zucchini, cucumbers, peppers, kale, and a little strawberry bush (the strawberry bush is 2 years old and getting bigger.) I miss how real food still is in Europe. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 14, 2014

      Thanks very much. As a kid my dad grew veg but often things we didn’t appreciate. Now I understand better and dad and I share tips about different crops.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2014 by in allotment, environment and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,323 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

#snow #netherlands

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

